In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Answer to a 4AM Prayer April 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 2:21 PM

My 2nd chemo treatment has brought with it totally different side effects to deal with.  I was switched to a different type of chemo after some more test results came back on my type of breast cancer.  I am very thankful to not have all the aches and severe fatigue I did with the first round!  After the first few days, my energy level has been really good this time. 🙂

The biggest challenge was the nausea that came Tuesday and Wednesday.  For those of you that know me, I don’t like to take pills if I don’t have to.  The doctor did give me anti-nausea pills to take as needed, but of course those have side effects too.  I decided I would try to see how I could manage without taking the pills first.  Crackers and eating every 1 1/2 hours seemed to help control it some.

The nausea had started Tuesday afternoon and kept building as I went into the night.  Finally at 4AM I knew I was going to have to do something about it.  I didn’t want to take the pills, but I was resigning myself to the fact that I might have to.  I thought that first I will pray, so this is what I said, “Lord, if you will, please can you take away this nausea.”  I waited about 5 seconds and had my answer!  My churning stomach just went still.  I could almost hear it as the peace came!  My nausea was completely gone, and I was able to sleep.  That truly was a specific answer to my specific prayer!

What an amazing God we have!  God showed me that He is right here with me every step of the way on this Journey.  I thought of a verse we had memorized in our Bible Study last year, John 16:24, “Until now you have asked for nothing in My name; ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be made full.”  God was just waiting for me to ask for His help.  How many blessings do we miss out on because we do not ask?  We may not always get the answer we want or think we need, but we know that God always wants what is best for us.  Don’t forget to ask!

 

2 Responses to “Answer to a 4AM Prayer”

  1. Bob Schultz Says:

    Amy,
    What a wonderful testimony of our wonderful Lord’s loving care for us! Whether it is 4 am or 4 pm, He is right there with us. Thank you for reminding us in such a powerful way!

  2. margi Says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey with us through this blog Amy. Your confidence in God is encouraging and bolsters our own walk through difficult times.

    I love the 4 am answer to prayer!

    Praying,
    Margi Deeks


Leave a Reply

