In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Strength in Weakness May 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:37 PM

After a bit of a rough week after the chemo, I am feeling great again!  Praise the Lord!  While the nausea was not as bad this time around, it did last longer.  But now I feel mostly normal and am only dealing with a couple of minor side effects!  My doctor has even given me this Friday off from my usual blood check appointment since everything looks good.  I am thankful for one less poke and one less doctor co-pay this month, as well as a whole week without some kind of doctor visit or test!

God has used my sickness and weakness this past week to instill in me another timeless Bible truth.  In 2 Corinthians 12, Paul is dealing with some type of ailment and has asked God three times to take it away.  This was the answer in verses 9 and 10:

“And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

I know that as I am weak, this is an opportunity for the power of Christ to make me strong!  My favorite verse that I use often is Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”  I have asked for strength this past week and He has given it to me!  His grace is sufficient in my time of need.  What an awesome and gracious God we have!  His strength is perfect.

I am now looking to apply this truth in another area where I am weak.  I have a speaking engagement that I am preparing for on June 8th to give an update on our ministry and how God is working in my life to the ladies at our sending church, Slater Baptist Church in Slater, IA.  I know and love this wonderful group of ladies that have been so loving and supportive of me and my family over the years!  I can’t wait to see them all, but I am also a bit nervous as I prepare.  If you know me, you know that I am NOT a public speaker.  I like to stay behind the scenes and let my wonderful husband do the public speaking when possible. 🙂  So will you pray with me that God will use me in this opportunity to share how He is working in my life to bless and encourage others?  If you are in the Des Moines area and would like to attend, all are welcome and I would love to see you!

 

2 Responses to “Strength in Weakness”

  1. Connie Pitcher Says:

    Hey Amy! Glad you’re feeling better this part of the week–especially with all the beautiful sunshine! About speaking at Slater; RATS I’ll be gone on vacation…bummed I’ll miss you!! But I will be praying for you…shoot, it’s just us….you could tell us how to make a pb&j sandwich and we’d hang on your every word! 🙂 Give the kids a squeeze (and Eric too).
    Love,
    Con

  2. Jenny Hare Says:

    Amy, I am greatly encouraged to see how you are making much of Christ, boasting in His finished work on the cross on your behalf! It is amazing to see that when we read His word and know His truth, we take the focus off of ourselves. For me, to glimpse a fraction of the suffering He willingly paid for my randsom is incomparable. I am greatly humbled daily! I am glad you have help and are being prayed for by your local body of believers. I will pray for you as well. We attend Omaha Bible Church and will continue to make much of Christ as we go through similar circumstances. To Him be the glory! I found a short article by John Piper, called “Don’t Waste Your Cancer” to be helpful in keeping Christ the center and focus of this trial. My husband and I were encouraged. Here is the link: http://www.desiringgod.org/resource-library/taste-see-articles/dont-waste-your-cancer . I hope you will be encouraged as well. Much love from the Hares!


Leave a Reply

