In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Present Sufferings/Future Glory May 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 8:48 AM

God blessed me with a wonderful week leading up to my birthday!  It was probably one of the best weeks I’ve had since starting chemo.  I was able to take our kids to IA to celebrate our nephew Derek’s graduation from HS!  We are so proud of him!  My boys were able to spend a couple days at Grandpa & Grandma’s house as Eric worked in the Des Moines office again.  It was again very quiet around the house when Faith was at school, but I did get some things done between appointments.  And we were able to enjoy some precious mother-daughter time after school.

For my birthday, my awesome hubby made me my traditional French Silk Birthday Pie (so yummy!) and I was so blessed to enjoy a wonderful time sharing it with our church family on my birthday. 🙂

Then, on Monday I succumbed to the the cold my 3 children had passed around for the past 2 weeks.  Thankfully it was pretty mild and was mostly gone by my Friday chemo treatment.  My dad also had a flare up with his kidney problems that Monday and spent the week in the hospital.  Thankfully he was able to catch the problem early and his kidneys did NOT shut down this time!  Thanks to those that were praying for him!

I did have my 4th chemo treatment this past Friday.  God keeps on answering our prayers as the tumor has shrunk significantly more once again!  It is getting more difficult to measure as it gets smaller!  I finished up one of my chemo drugs, so next time will only have to have one kind instead of two together.  This will hopefully lessen some of the side effects next time around.  I also found out that I only have to wait 2 weeks instead of 3 to get the next chemo treatment, so I should be feeling better for our week of Vacation Bible School here in the Bennington parks!  I was really wanting to be able to go and help out and talk with the parents of the kids that come to VBS, and now I can! Praise the Lord for a very unexpected blessing!

As I was battling my cold that my 3 wonderful children shared with me this past week and anticipating this chemo treatment, God once again brought me to an encouraging passage in Romans 8:

“I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope thatthe creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God.”

I have the hope that one day, as a child of God, I will have a perfect body with no cancer!  All of creation is waiting eagerly for the day when all will be restored to its original glory before sin came and brought bondage and decay.  And my present suffering is not worth comparing to the glory that is to come!  I know this suffering is only for a little while, and God is helping me along each step of the way.  His strength is perfect when my strength is gone. 🙂

Thank you again for all your thoughts and prayers!  Continue to pray for me as I will be speaking to the Ladies Group on Wednesday, June 8th at Slater Baptist Church in Slater, IA.  Please come see me if you can; all are welcome!  I can’t wait to see all of you again!

 

3 Responses to “Present Sufferings/Future Glory”

  1. Connie Pitcher Says:

    Praising God with you!

    You make me reminisce…remember the battle of the French Silk Pies? 🙂
    We miss you guys!!

    loving you all and praying continually….

    The Pitcher Clan

  2. JoAnn Tsonton Says:

    Hi Amy,

    I bring greetings from Parsippany Baptist Church in Parsippany, NJ. We are all praying for your full and complete recovery. We here at PBC are going through our own battles with cancer among our membership, so we know about chemo, its effects and how to pray for those we love.

    You are so right! God will provide us a whole new body. Phil 3:20-21

    Lord bless you, Amy! Our prayers for you continue.

    In Christ,

    JoAnn Tsonton

  3. Sharon Says:

    Amy-this makes me think of one of my favorite songs, Before the Morning by Josh Wilson. This life, with all it’s troubles and trials, is indeed just the “dark before the morning.” Hallelujah!


Leave a Reply

