In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Surgery Now July 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:10 PM

I had my follow up appointment with my oncologist today, after my allergic reaction to the new chemo drug last Friday.  He decided it would be good to go ahead with surgery now, rather than try another chemo I may be allergic to.  So I am scheduled for a Breast MRI next Friday, the 22nd, assuming my insurance will cover another one already.  Then we meet with my surgeon on Monday, July 25th to go over the results and talk about surgery options and dates.  If I cannot get scheduled quickly enough, I may have to have more chemo in the meantime to make sure the tumor does not start to grow again.

The tumor has shrunk considerably.  It was half the original size a few weeks ago, and it has shrunk even more since then.  As Eric pointed out, it’s a good sign when the doctor has to ask “The tumor was right here, right?” 🙂  Yes, it’s still there, but a bit harder to find now.  We’ll have a better idea of how things are after we see the MRI results.  I can’t wait to compare how things look now with the first MRI before the chemo back in March.  I would love to be able to say My God is able to do “exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think.” (Ephesians 3:20)  I know many of you are praying that the cancer will be taken away completely.  Wouldn’t it be awesome to see those prayers answered in the results next week?

No matter what happens, I know “that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) I know that He has a purpose in all of this, even though I may not understand it right now.  I am trusting in Him as we look to what lies in the days ahead.  Thank you all for your continued thoughts and prayers!

 

4 Responses to “Surgery Now”

  1. Yes, God is merciful, powerful, and purposeful. When we lean on him, all things are possible and we can have peace in ALL circumstances. You have been a wonderful witness to these truths, Amy. Praying with you.
    Sharon

  2. JoAnn Tsonton Says:

    Dearest Amy,

    You can be sure the women and men of Parsippany Baptist Church in New Jersey will be praying you through this. “I will rejoice greatly in the LORD, my soul will exult in my God; for He has clothed me with the garments of salvation, He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself with a garland and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.” Isaiah 61:10

    Love in Christ,

    JoAnn Tsonton

  3. Brandy Says:

    Hugs (((Amy))). We will be praying insurance will cover the MRI, and that the results are everything we have been hoping and praying for. But you are right, if they aren’t ALL that we hope and pray for, we still know the Lord is working through you and this situation. He is still able to do all things exceedingly and abundantly.

    We continue to pray for you and your family daily.

    All our love,
    Brandy (for the Krahn family)

  4. Chris Brauns Says:

    Amy,

    I continue to read these and am thankful to see how you are processing this. I pray that passages like Matt 6:33ff and Psalm 23 will be of great comfort to you.

    My best to your parents and grandparents.

    Chris.


Leave a Reply

