In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Great Report & Surgery Next Tuesday July 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:14 AM

The results of my Breast MRI were excellent!  God definitely continues to answer our prayers “exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think”!  The tumor has shrunk by 70% and is now between 10 and 16 mm.  This is amazing news, considering they were measuring in cm before the chemo.  The MRI I had in March showed the tumor originally was 3.7 cm long.  We are praising God for this wonderful blessing!

I was able to meet with my surgeon this morning to discuss my options for surgery.  We had been praying that this would allow me to be able to have a lumpectomy instead of a full mastectomy, and the surgeon said that is what he recommends for me!  I will have to have lymph nodes taken out as well, since they did find 2 enlarged lymph nodes that tested positive for cancer back in April.  (All my scans were clear for any spread of cancer to the rest of my body though.)

So I am now scheduled for surgery next Tuesday morning (8.2.11).  I will have to stay overnight in the hospital for observation, since I will have a drain put in where the lymph nodes are taken out.  Pray that the surgery will go well and they can remove all of the cancer, and that my body will adjust to not having those lymph nodes that will be removed.

My grandparents will be bringing their camper over to stay and help out with the kids while I am recovering, as well as other family that will come to help out when they can.  What a blessing to have this help available!  Eric’s mom came and took the kids this past weekend, so we were able to have a little break and a date night Sunday night. 🙂  I am so thankful for such a wonderful, loving husband to be by my side through this, as well as my Comforter God to give me peace and strength for this journey!

We are now back in Iowa for a couple days so Eric can enjoy the county tractor ride with his dad and brother tomorrow, and then we will celebrate Ethan’s 3rd birthday with a party with family tomorrow night.  I can’t believe my baby turned 3 years old on Friday!  He is such a blessing to us.  He’s such a happy boy and his sweet smile and joyful laugh can melt my heart and lift my spirits whenever I see him. 🙂

“I thank my God upon every remembrance of you”! (Phil. 1:3) Thank you all for your prayers as I prepare for surgery.  Many of you have been asking about helping out.  For those in the area, I will be updating our CareCalendar with our childcare and meal needs soon.  Let me know if you need the login info.  You can always drop off a meal for us to freeze and use as needed too.  Thanks so much for showing your love and kindness in this way!  We have been so blessed by all those that have sent gifts, provided meals and baked goodies, watched the kids, labored for us, encouraged us, and especially prayed for us along this journey!  I pray God blesses each of you for your generosity to us!

 

One Response to “Great Report & Surgery Next Tuesday”

  1. Brandy Says:

    Praise the Lord for the wonderful news, Amy! We will continue in praying for you and your entire family. I am so thankful you can go with the lumpectomy!!!! 🙂 Giving God the Glory for answering prayers and walking through this holding your hand and the hands of your family! (((HUGS)))


Leave a Reply

