In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Rejoice! August 6, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:31 AM

Wow! It’s so awesome to be able to witness and rejoice in the power of Christ and your prayers!

“And in this I rejoice, yes, and will rejoice. For I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayer and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ,  according to my earnest expectation and hope that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ will be magnified in my body, whether by life or by death.” Phil. 1:18b-20

God brought me to this passage in Philippians at the very beginning of this journey through breast cancer back in March, and it has been a strength, comfort, and encouragement to me all along the way.  God has allowed me to rejoice in the blessings and even the difficulties along  this journey, because I can know that it will turn out for my deliverance.  God is with me every step of the way and will get me through any journey he allows in my path.  That is His promise to me from the Bible.  He may not choose the course I would choose, but I can “know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28)  God has a purpose in all of this, even in my cancer!

It has been my prayer that God can use me to tell others of the hope and strength we can have in Christ!  God has given me boldness in many opportunities to share that with friends, family, patients, medical professionals, and even strangers.  I pray that now as you read this blog you are encouraged and can rest in the promises God has given to each of us that trust in Him.  If you have never trusted Christ as your Savior, I encourage you to do it today!  As I explain to my JOY Clubbers, it’s as easy as ABC:

A – Admit honestly to God that you have sinned and disobeyed Him. – Romans 3:23 says, “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Romans 6:23 says, “For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

B – Believe that God’s Son, Jesus Christ, died to pay for your sins.  Romans 5:8 says, “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

C – Confess or tell God that you want Him to save you and give you eternal life.  Romans 10:9-10 says, “that if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

That is all you have to do to receive the hope and claim the promises God has waiting for you!  If you want to find out more, you can read this or please ask me. 🙂

God has been faithful to me through this journey and I know He has heard and answered all your prayers on my behalf.  I have had very little pain during my recovery this week, since my surgery on Tuesday!  Mostly fatigue, so I’ve had lots of time to lay around and rest up as my body heals.  So far the recovery has been much better than I was anticipating.  I am so thankful for my wonderful husband who has put on his “nurse” hat and cared for me, while working his 2 jobs and taking care of the kids.

We were very blessed to have my grandparents bring out their camper and watch our 3 kids at Cunningham Lake from Monday night through Thursday afternoon.  They were able to enjoy time together with their great-grandkids, while Eric was able to care for me and get some work done, and I was able to rest and recuperate.  I praise God for godly grandparents who wish to serve the Lord by serving us in this way!  They are truly a blessing from the Lord!

Thank you all for your prayers and support as I continue to recover from surgery.  I meet with my surgeon on Wednesday to go over the results of the pathology report.  We are praying that he was able to remove all the cancer and clear margins around it!  Know that I am praying for all of you as well in whatever situation you are facing in life.  God has given me lots of time to pray when I have to rest as my body heals.  If you have a specific request for me to pray about, please let me know!  Lots of love and prayers to you all!

 

Leave a Reply

