In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

More Surgery August 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:10 PM

We know that God’s ways are not our ways.  He has taken us in a different direction than we had prayed for again today.  We received the results of the pathology report from my tumor and lymph nodes taken out last Tuesday, and the margins did not come back clear.  (The margins are the tissue around the tumor that they take out with the tumor to be tested to make sure they got all of the cancer.)  The margins tested positive for cancer, so there is more cancer left that needs to be removed still.  So I have another surgery at 7am on Monday, August 22nd to remove the remaining cancer.  It will be an outpatient surgery since I won’t need a drain and lymph nodes won’t be removed this time around.

While this was not the news we were hoping for today, we still have much to be thankful for.  I have had an amazing recovery from surgery so far.  I only had to take pain meds the day of the surgery.  I have had very minimal pain since then, praise the LORD!  Everything is healing well and I was able to get my drain taken out today too!  My arm continues to get better and more mobile.  While the Physical Therapy exercises are painful (I’m sure those that have been through PT can relate!), they seem to help my arm get better and have more mobility each day.

I have been so encouraged by the cards and notes I have received and by those that have brought our family meals, food, and helped to clean our house while I’ve been recovering this past week.  A dear family came to spend the day with us yesterday and serve the Lord by helping out with cleaning.  They completed all the items on my cleaning list, did some touch up paint all over the house, and helped me clean and organize my laundry room!  It was wonderful to accomplish all that, have the kids enjoy a day with friends, and enjoy the time catching up with my dear friend. 🙂  What a blessing!

Please keep me in your prayers as I continue to heal and prepare for another surgery.  We are praying that this surgery will get all the remaining cancer.  I hope that I can be a blessing to others around me as so many have reached out to bless me during this time.  Thank you all for your continued thoughts and prayers!

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”  Philippians 4:13

 

2 Responses to “More Surgery”

  1. JoAnn Tsonton Says:

    My dearest Amy,

    The strength of your faith is a joy to read in your posts. You remain in my prayers. “I love You, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my strength and my fortress and my deliverer, My God , my rock in Whom I take refuge;” Psalm 18:1-2

    Love in Christ,

    JoAnn Tsonton.
    Parsippany Baptist Church

  2. tonna Says:

    Oh Amy. Not the report we were believing for either, but as already noted here, your faith and peace are daily bringing glory to our Lord and encouragement and greater faith to those of us who know you. We continue to believe with you and petition our Father to meet you right where you are today, to refresh, heal, and encourage you. And that He will reign in that surgery on the 22nd and be glorified thru it all. I know God is using you, Eric, and the kids in the lives of others thru this trial and we count that part of it as all joy because He is producing in you and in others thru you exactly His desires.

    peace, tonna heinemann


Leave a Reply

