In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Surgery Day August 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:56 AM

Surgery Day #2 has arrived again.  I am scheduled for outpatient surgery at 7am, so that means I have to get up really early and be at the surgery center at 5:30am!  I’m glad I will get to take a nap! 😉  The surgeon will be going in through the same incision as before and removing a little more around where the lump was.  We are praying that he will be able to remove all the remaining cancer this time, and not have any more surgery!

I have been feeling really good the last couple of weeks.  It seems the further out I get from the last chemo treatment that my body is slowly getting back to normal and feeling better and better!  My arm is getting more and more mobility back each day and I now have to remind myself not to use it too much since it doesn’t hurt to do more and more things.  Praise the Lord, I haven’t had any complications from the removal of the lymph nodes!

I was able to spend many days out enjoying the beautiful weather this past week with the kids and friends!  It was nice to be able to get to know some friends better and connect with new friends as well.  We were also able to celebrate our niece’s wedding day this past Saturday, having a great time with family!  Faith loved being the Flowergirl and the wedding cake was really fun to make and turned out really neat!  We wish Kevin and Jes all the best as they begin their lives together!

It is so neat to see how God provides for us in our time of need.  He gives me strength when I am weak.  He heals my body when it is sick.  He sends cooks and cleaners and childcare providers just when we really need them.  He provides financially to cover our medical expenses just as the bills arrive.  We are so thankful that we don’t have to worry about these things, because we know that God will provide.  “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us?  He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things?” (Romans 8:31-32)

Thank you all who have helped us out in some way these past few weeks of surgery and recovery!  We appreciate each one of your contributions to us during this journey.  You are such a help and encouragement!  Please continue to keep us in your prayers during this surgery and recovery.

 

Leave a Reply

