In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Decisions, Decisions September 3, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 1:29 AM

Today we are so thankful that we opted to go ahead with the 3rd surgery, because the results of the pathology report show that indeed there is more cancer.  This was definitely not the news we were expecting or hoping to hear when the surgeon called with the results this afternoon.  (I am now the 1st case where my surgeon has gotten a positive result for cancer after the 3rd surgery.  I guess I am pretty special! 😉 )  It appears the Breast MRI that showed the tumor had shrunk by 70% was very misleading.  The MRI showed a tumor 10-16mm in size, while the one removed in my 1st surgery was 6cm or larger.  Plus the section removed this past Tuesday contained another 3 x 3mm section that was cancerous and to the margins, meaning it could be larger.

We are praising God for revealing this to us, so we did not move on with my treatments without getting rid of all the cancer!  But now it would appear that mastectomy is the only option.  So now we must decide on a few things and get the ball rolling for another surgery:  Do I want/need a double mastectomy?  Do I want reconstruction (which requires a plastic surgeon as well)?  And if so, what type of reconstruction?  I’m to call my surgeon back on Tuesday morning with our decisions.

As I reflect on all that is transpiring, I can’t help but wonder who the Lord is trying to reach through all of this.  Could it be one of my doctor’s or health care providers?  Or another patient I have met?  Could it be a friend or even a stranger who will see God work in my life?

My hope is still in my awesome God, the giver of strength and peace!  He has given me once again an unfathomable peace in the midst of my battle with cancer and the upcoming road ahead: including more surgery, radiation, and most likely more chemotherapy.  James 1:2-4 say, “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials,  knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.  And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”  I think God is giving me a lesson in endurance!  I am striving to travel this road joyfully as God grows my faith.  (And He has grown my faith so much already!)  It is so encouraging to know that someday I will be perfect and complete, free from the affects of the sin and cancer in this world!

Will you pray with me, that I will have God’s wisdom as I make decisions, boldness as I share my source of hope with others, and that I will be used to reach others and help them grow in their relationship with our awesome Creator God?

 

10 Responses to “Decisions, Decisions”

  1. Grace Chovan Says:

    Praying for you, Amy.

  2. JoAnn Tsonton Says:

    My dear Amy,

    You quote my favorite encouraging scripture: “Count it all joy. . .” It has gotten me through so many very difficult times! And indeed, God does use difficult trials to test our faith and produce endurance (patience), helping us grow into that perfect woman He would have us to be. Even in testing and in pain, actually, especially in testing and in pain, He is there helping us become more like Him. I will be praying for you and your family, Amy as you prayerfully work through your decisions. More importantly, He is there with you!

    In Christ,

    JoAnn Tsonton, Parsippany, NJ

  3. Sherry Newman Says:

    Thank you, Amy, for the extra effort you exert to write and share so openly about this path God has your family taking, and in doing so, sharing your heart’s desire that Christ be glorified through it. Your posts encourage my heart as you direct me back to the Word. I pray often for you and your family (and as a mom, for your mom). God is at work through this in my life, and I’m sure in the lives of many, many others.

  4. Debbie Bishop Says:

    Precious Amy-

    Thank you for your sweet spirit through the trial of breast cancer. God is using what you and your family are going through to challenge me to walk even closer with Him. I have been and will continue to faithfully pray for you. Thank you for keeping us informed so our prayers can be specific. God is great, mighty, and all powerful you couldn’t be in more capable hands! I know you cling to Him and He is your source of strength. He is shining through you!

    One of my best girlfriends lives down in Texas and five years ago when she was 34 years old she had a double mastectomy followed by reconstruction surgery and chemo. I flew down there to be with her for her last chemo treatment then we celebrated, rejoicing in God’s sufficiency. This October I am flying back down there in celebration of her being cancer free for five years. She naturally is very southern and she’s calling this her “Hallelujah!!! anniversary celebration” =0) If speaking with her could help you in any way, I’d be happy to give you her info.

    The decisions you and Eric have to make are very personal and very serious. I am praying God will make the choice clear to you and give you His perfect peace. His grace is sufficient even in the decision making process. Jeremiah 10:23 “I know, O LORD, that a man’s life is not his own; it is not for man to direct his steps.” Proverbs 16:9 “A man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD directs his steps.”

    I Love You,
    Debbie

  5. Erin Says:

    Oh, Amy. What a tough, tough decision you must make. Prayers for you and your family right now. God is so good. Always holding us. Always loving us. In everything.

  6. MARIT Says:

    what a brave young lady, what faith and endurance, MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND HEAL YOU, MAY HIS LIGHT SHINE ON YOU, AND BY HIS STRIPES WE ARE HEALED, GOD BLESS YOU AND TONS OF HUGS!!!!

  7. My husband and I prayed for you and your family to have peace, strength, and healing during this time. We will continue to pray, God bless you and know that God has you and WON”T let you go…..not ever!!

    Love in Christ Jesus,
    Heather Wickman

  8. Anita Says:

    Was reading your post and in the background listening to the song “Stronger” by Mandisa. So encouraged by your consistent testimony and trust in God. Will continue to pray with you and your family!

  9. Erin Foerch Says:

    Your walk is an inspiration. We are praying. Much love…


Leave a Reply

