In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Faithful September 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 2:13 AM

This past week in JOY Club I got to teach on being faithful.  We discussed things we need to do faithfully and things that are hard to be faithful in doing.  The kids thought of things like doing their homework, cleaning their rooms, and reading their Bible each day.  I now have been challenged to be faithful in doing my physical therapy exercises for my left arm each day.  When I am faithful in doing them, I see how well they are working.  I can almost raise my arm all the way up now!  It’s exciting to see the results when we are faithful, but sometimes hard to remember how good the reward will be when we are faced with distractions from what we need to be faithful in doing.

I am constantly getting to the end of my day and ready for bed and realize I didn’t do my evening PT exercises yet, so I have another half hour of work to do before bed.  There are so many distractions that keep us from doing those things that we need to do, like taking time to read our Bibles and pray, reaching out to a friend or neighbor, or making time for a family member or spouse.  Many of the distractions we face are good things that need to be done, like cleaning and laundry, business or financial items, planning an event, volunteering ….the list goes on and on.  If I can only get this one last thing done or I can fit this job in.  I often find myself bouncing from item to item on my mental “to do” list, and forget my purpose in all of this.  I am so thankful for the reminder of Jesus’ example for us.  Jesus took time to pray and talk with His Father, even when He was exhausted.  Jesus took time to help others, even when He had already worked all day long.  I often tell my kids and my JOY Clubbers when you put Jesus first, Others next, and Yourself last, you will have joy!  It’s easy to say, much harder to do, but always true.  God will give joy and peace in any situation when we are focusing appropriately on Him.  When I lose that focus, things start to get crazy and very un-joyful.  I have to remain faithful in those areas that are truly important.

As I think about God’s faithfulness to me, I am so humbled.  His hand is working in so many ways in my life, many details are easy to miss.  I didn’t understand why my surgery couldn’t get scheduled any sooner, but God knew why.  Our whole family, except for Faith, has now been dealing with a cough/cold bug, which I came down with last Tuesday.  I’m praying it will be completely gone by next Tuesday when I’m scheduled for surgery, exactly 2 weeks later.  Hmmm…was God working this timing out for me or what?  Through these past months in my journey through cancer, God has helped me realize that some of those “to do” items don’t “need” to be done, but there are more important things that I have been missing.  Don’t miss out on what is truly important today!

“And you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.’ This is the first commandment. And the second, like it, is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:30-31

“O taste and see that the LORD is good;
How blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!
O fear the LORD, you His saints;
For to those who fear Him there is no want.” Psalm 34:8-9

 

2 Responses to “Faithful”

  1. Mary Lou Jenks Says:

    Thanks for your post. It was just what I needed for today. I love you.

  2. Tasha Says:

    You have so much faith. You have helped me to focus on what matters most!


Leave a Reply

