In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Surgery Day #4 is Here September 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:48 AM

The day has finally arrived.  It seems like a long time since I decided to go forward with the surgery, but now here I am on the eve of it.  Thank you all for your faithful and frequent prayers!  It has been such an encouragement to receive cards, emails, texts, phone calls, and talk in person to all of you who have expressed that you pray for me and your churches or various groups pray for me.  God has definitely been watching over me and answering your prayers!  He has given me such a peace that passes all understanding and an ability to trust Him with what the future holds for me.  Also, I am nearly over my cold now, just a little cough now and then.  God’s timing is once again perfect, so there shouldn’t be any trouble with the surgery in the morning.

It’s a little odd to think that today I was doing normal things like grocery shopping with my boys and taking Faith to the first Girl Scout meeting of the year, and tomorrow I will be in surgery for a double mastectomy and start the reconstruction process.  I am praying that this will remove all the cancer from my body and I won’t have any complications or infections as I recover.  It is nice that I am nearly back to full range of motion for my left arm after the lymph node removal during my first surgery!  I am hoping that means the recovery from this surgery will not be as bad as having mastectomy and lymph node removal both done at the same time.  That’s a silver lining, right? 😉

As I’ve been preparing for this week, God seems to bring up the same passage of scripture through my study, as well as friend’s encouragement.  I have gone back to it time and again since my diagnosis in March, and it is my prayer that I can say and do this as I continue on my journey:

“Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayers and the provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, according to my earnest expectation and hope, that I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death.”

I will leave you tonight with a song that my dad reminded me of this week.  We sang this for special music in church when I was in Patch the Pirate Club as a kid, and I’ve always loved the message that we don’t need to fear or worry about what the future holds, because our Savior is watching over us.  He walks along with us and gives us peace.  He controls everything, so we can trust in Him!  How Can I Fear With Jesus?

 

3 Responses to “Surgery Day #4 is Here”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Praying for you today! God is might and He is your strength. *HUGS* 🙂

  2. Patty Barbour Says:

    Amy, I’m praying for you constantly this morning while I am work, as God brings you to my mind. I know our God can do all things and even as you prepare for surgery #4, He knows what will happen. I am so happy for the peace He has already given you which in turn helps us all to have peace as we pray for you. We love you

  3. Brandy Says:

    (((HUGS))) Praying for you today Amy (and family)! You are right… How can We Fear… Jesus is Near… and He remains your great Physician, Lover of your Soul, and Best Friend. All of our love being sent your way today…


Leave a Reply

