In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Finally Cancer-Free!! October 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 2:48 PM

After feeling very tired for several days after surgery, I seemed to turn the corner on Monday and start to get my energy back!  This morning I was able to go and get both drains removed, so that has helped me feel even better today.  I am still weaning myself off the pain medication.  Of my 4 surgeries, this is the first time I’ve had to take any pain meds after returning home.  I am very thankful for the pain relief and hope I will again be free of pain meds very soon.

My wonderful mother-in-law has been staying with us since the surgery and taking care of the kids (and me).  It is such a blessing not to have to worry about my kids and my home with her helping out.  My mom and many other family members have been here over the past week when they have been able to come and help out as well.  Many friends have also been bringing us meals and helping out too!  We are so thankful for the wonderful family and friends God has given to us!  What a blessing in our time of need!

The pathology report finally came in yesterday with the results from the surgery.  There was absolutely nothing found on the right side, which is what we were expecting.  But there was more cancer on the left side in multiple areas with the largest being another 8 mm spot.  But I finally heard the news we have been waiting for:  There were good, clear margins and I now appear to be cancer-free!!!  Praise the Lord!!!  So nice to finally be able to say that after 4 surgeries! 🙂

My wonderful husband came across this passage in his study this past week, and it seemed so fitting for us at this time:

Psalm 112:6-8

New International Version (NIV)

6 Surely the righteous will never be shaken;
they will be remembered forever.
7 They will have no fear of bad news;
their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the LORD.
8 Their hearts are secure, they will have no fear;
in the end they will look in triumph on their foes.

Now we can look in triumph over the cancer that was in my body!  Even though we had to endure bad news 3 times, we knew the LORD would get us through, just as this passage states.  We are secure, with no need to fear, when we are trusting in our LORD!

So what’s next you may wonder.  I’ve still got a lot of treatment ahead of me.  I have an appointment next week to begin my fills on the tissue expanders.  I will also be meeting with my chemotherapy oncologist soon to determine what chemo treatment we will pursue next.  After I’m done with my tissue expansion, I will have radiation treatments on the left side where the cancer was.  And sometime after that I will have another surgery to remove the tissue expanders and put in the permanent implants.  Thank you all for your prayers and support!  God is using each of you in a special way in my life.  God has been faithful to me and our family through this journey, and we continue to trust in Him in the days ahead!  Pray that the healing process will continue to go well, without any complications.

 

9 Responses to “Finally Cancer-Free!!”

  1. tonna Says:

    SUCH GREAT NEWS!!!!!! though i know the road ahead is still long and at times may be difficult. We continue to believe that you will triumph over this foe of cancer and that you will continue to stand steadfast trusting in HIM alone!! We continue to pray for pain-free healing and that you’re healing will blow the minds of your doctors!!

  2. Erin Says:

    God Bless You, Amy. I think of you and your family often. Your courage and faith has been so inspiring all through this ordeal.

  3. Tasha Says:

    I am so glad that you are Cancer-free. We are praying for your recovery.

  4. Chris Huff Says:

    Love and prayers always. If you don’t recognize the name, my mother and Frances are sisters. Mom is dealing with cancer as well so I am far to familiar with everything you are going through. Linda and I are visiting via FB and I am subscribing to your blog. Hang in there…we all love you and God is on your side.

  5. YES! Praising God with you!

  6. coribaum Says:

    Such wonderful news, Amy! Praise God that the cancer is gone! We will continue to keep you in our prayers as you recover and receive more treatments.

  7. Kate Wilson Says:

    Amy – We are soooo thrilled to hear this wonderful blessing from God!! We will be continuing to pray for you and Eric and the kids, for healing and strength and for your continued steadfastness in the Lord! You all are such a blessing to us and so many others!! We love you all!

  8. Jody Says:

    So great to see you last night…you look fabulous!!! Your short hair is so cute on you!! Continue the fight, we’re all thinking of you!

  9. Bert Says:

    That is awesome news! Lisa and I pray that you continue to feel better and better each day. Praise God that the cancer is gone!


Leave a Reply

