In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Chemo Day Update November 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:20 AM

Praise the Lord! I made it through my first new chemo treatment today with no allergic reactions!  A headache was the only thing I had to deal with today.  God is good!  Keep praying, as they said it will probably hit me in 2-3 days, like it did before.  Hopefully not with many side effects.  It is NOT supposed to make me nauseated, like my previous treatments!  I will probably still have some digestive issues and fatigue, of course.  And the big news was that I will probably NOT lose my hair after all!  Maybe some hair loss by the end the doctor said, but definitely not completely bald in 3 weeks like the last time. When the nurse called last Friday with some more info she said I would lose my hair again, so it was a pleasant surprise to hear I might not! 🙂  My hair is getting rather thick now and growing very quickly.  It may be time for a haircut!

My treatment plan is to have chemo once a week for 2 weeks and then a week off, and then start over.  We’ll do this for 3-4 cycles.  I will have to watch my blood counts closely and get shots to help bring my counts back up, like I did before.  (Please pray that I will not get sick with all the colds and bugs going around.  My kids are all still coughing, but hopefully on the mend.)  This schedule works out so I will not have chemo the week of Thanksgiving, so I should be able to celebrate with 3 family Thanksgiving dinners that week!  I can’t wait to see everyone!  I’m so thankful for the wonderful family God has blessed me with! (Thanks to my mother-in-law for being here to help out once again this week as Eric has to work in Des Moines all week.  And thanks to my mom for coming over for the day to come with me to chemo.  I enjoyed having company there with me!)

God is so good and I have so many things to be thankful for in my life.  I hope you all take time to reflect on the many blessings God has given you this past year.  When I start to think about it, I am overwhelmed and so thankful for all the people that have given of themselves in so many ways to help our family this year in too many ways to list here.  “I thank my God in all my remembrance of you!” Phil 1:3.

I am so thankful that God has given me Paul’s experience in Philippians chapter 1 to relate to through this journey.  If you have a chance, please read it!  I pray that I may be encouraging others to speak the gospel without fear.  I pray that I will exalt Christ in everything I do.  I thank the Lord that He has chosen me to suffer these circumstances for the furtherance of the gospel, just as Paul did during his imprisonment for preaching the gospel.  Paul’s experience is not exactly the same as mine, of course, but God used him through his suffering to further the gospel and save others!  How exciting that you and I, too, endure hardships that God can use to further the gospel and save others!  And He is there to help us each step of the way:

“Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the LORD your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you or forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

 

Leave a Reply

