In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

So Much to Be Thankful For! November 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 4:38 AM

“Giving thanks always for all things.” Ephesians 5:20

My 4 year old Adam learned this verse in church last week, and whenever we talked of thankfulness this past week he would quote it for us.  What a wonderful reminder to give thanks always.  Do you have a thankful heart?  I have come to give thanks even for my cancer and the opportunities it has given me through this journey.  God has faithfully brought me every step of the way, and I know He will get me through these last few months of treatment.

As I was thinking about my cancer treatments, I started thinking of things I am thankful for.  Here are a few that came to mind.  Some serious and some not so serious! 🙂

-So many opportunities to share the hope of Christ with others!

-God’s strength when I am weak!  “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13

-No nausea, mouth sores, tasteless food, or “severe” fatigue with these new chemo treatments!

-Miralax to regulate my digestive tract issues!!!  Apparently my digestive tract does not tolerate any type of chemo or anesthesia well at all.  Thank you Lord for Miralax! 😉

-No shaving needed once again as my hair has stopped growing.  A nice little benefit from chemo!  (I have started losing some of my hair from my head, but not much.  I’m hoping that it will just thin out a little during these treatments.  I’m very thankful that my hair came back from the first chemo treatments VERY thick and grew very fast!)

-Not catching the coughs/colds that all three of my kids had when I began chemo again!  There are so many bugs going around right now, but so far I’ve been able to avoid them!

-The headaches were much less severe with my second week of chemo, after a change in the pre-chemo drugs they give me.  (They lowered my steroid dosage and switched my anti-nausea med.)  Praying I can control the side effects even better this time around!

-The steroids giving me LOADS of energy on Tuesday night and Wednesday (notice I can’t sleep!) to get things done around the house, post my blog updates, and pray for so many on my prayer list.  This lets me get caught up so I can rest when I feel icky Thurs.-Sat./Sun.

-I am especially thankful for friends and family that have helped me through and been so supportive in so many ways from near and far.  I am humbled by the love and support shown to me from old friends and new, even those I’ve never met before.  God has supplied all my needs and answered your prayers on my behalf!  I thank God for you all!

-I am also thankful for a week off between chemo cycles!  And that this time it was the week of Thanksgiving!  God gave me a wonderful, feeling-good week to get out and do some “normal” fun things.  My wonderful hubby and I got to enjoy our semi-annual date on Tuesday night: Dinner and the Broadway Musical WICKED in Des Moines, and I was surprised by my best friend from school days joining us for the evening!!!  What a wonderful night!  I also enjoyed sweet time with lots of wonderful family, lots of yummy food during our 3 Thanksgiving dinners, a crazy shopping adventure, and the annual Wilmeth Tractor Ride before it got too cold!  I’m so thankful for these wonderful times with family and friends!

I did start my 2nd of 4 chemo cycles today, so if I stay on schedule I will have my last chemo treatment on January 17th!  I had a consult with my Radiation Oncologist yesterday.  He was very thorough in going through my treatment history and explaining the need for radiation.  We really liked him!  The plan is to start radiation 4 weeks after my last chemo treatment, so that puts it starting on Valentine’s Day.  I will have 28 treatments, one each weekday for about 6-1/2 weeks.  Then I should be done with treatment until my skin heals from the radiation, which can be up to 6 months, before having the surgery to put in my permanent implants.  I still have a ways to go, so I appreciate all your prayers and support as I continue on this journey.

Giving thanks always for all things!

 

2 Responses to “So Much to Be Thankful For!”

  1. Becca Says:

    My thoughts and prayers are always with you, Eric and your beautiful kids!! I wish I was closer to help you more!! Please let me know if you are in the area and your kids need someone to play with so you can relax if needed! I know we haven’t been close since high school but I love you and hope you know how much your stregth helps me through everything! You are a blessing! God bless you all, always and forever!

  2. Tasha Says:

    Praying for you.


Leave a Reply

