In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Yay for NO headaches! December 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:42 AM

“Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
“ The LORD is my portion,” says my soul,
“ Therefore I hope in Him!”
The LORD is good to those who wait for Him,
To the soul who seeks Him.
It is good that one should hope and wait quietly
For the salvation of the LORD.”

Lamentations 3:22-26

Praise the Lord for NO headaches this round of chemo!  This is such an answer to prayer for me.  This is why my hope is in my Lord whose mercies are new every morning and whose compassions fail not!

The past 3 rounds of this new chemo have been accompanied by a nasty headache that lasts from the Thursday after chemo until Saturday or Sunday.  I don’t normally get headaches, and if I do then one Tylenol will take care of it.  These headaches were not phased by multiple Tylenol or multiple doses at all.  My doctor suspected that my pre-chemo drugs were actually the cause of the headaches, so we’ve been adjusting those to try and avoid the headaches but not have other side effects.  Each chemo treatment I receive is preceded by steroids, anti-nausea meds, and antacid meds.  We have apparently found a good combination this time, as the worst has been the fatigue today.  Yay for no headaches!

I was actually able to spend a fun evening with my kiddos and my wonderful husband, as opposed to staying in my dark bedroom with sunglasses on due to the light and sound sensitivity of the headaches.  I am so thankful for this wonderful blessing from the Lord!  God has been faithful through my entire journey through cancer, and has opened my eyes to His faithfulness throughout my entire life.  He is the same today as He always has been and always will be.  As the verse above says, “The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.”  We just need to wait for Him and seek Him and He is good to us!  He wants the best for us, and will give it to us when we seek Him.  Are you seeking Him today?  He is right there waiting for you, and always will be, because of His great love for you!

I am now halfway done with my chemo treatments!  I only have 4 more doses left over 6 weeks, so in January I should be completely done with chemo.  This also means that I will only have 4 more times to spend with the nurses and other chemo patients during our chemo treatments.  I have had many, many opportunities to share my hope with other patients and encourage them in their battle with cancer.  Each week I am in the chemo room for a few hours, and each week I seem to meet someone new to share time with, as well as some of the same people.  Pray that I will be bold in my witness to these dear people, and not waste any opportunities my cancer gives me to share Christ with those around me.

Thank you all for your continued prayers!  God is good all the time!

 

One Response to “Yay for NO headaches!”

  1. Brandy Says:

    Amy, we are Thanking and Praising the Lord for His Faithfulness to you. Our hearts are sad that you’ve even had to walk this journey, but seeing your faith and trust in it, has been such a blessing to our family. When others were encouraging you, your walk in Christ has been an ever greater encouragement than you’ll likely ever know. We love you , and will continue praying for you, and for the requests you have petitioned. (((HUGS))) And so excited to hear that you are seeing the end of this long battle!


Leave a Reply

