In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Last Chemo Day!!! January 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 1:19 AM

Wow! The past month has gone by in a blur! Thanks to all for your faithful prayers on my behalf and the cards and gifts you have given  to our family.  God is good all the time! Here are some highlights of what has been going on for our family this past month:

We had a wonderful Christmas Season celebrating Christ’s birth! We were able to see through our family devotions how the entire Bible points to Christ. It’s His Story. God loved us so much He sent His Son to earth to die for us. I’ve enjoyed teaching my Jr. Church class about everything that happened leading up to Jesus birth and now after Jesus birth. He was born a baby and grew into a toddler and then a little boy. They are so excited to learn more each week about how Jesus did things just like they do. He really knows our struggles, because He lived them too. He can relate. It’s so comforting to know that He’s faced life as we have, and He wants to help us through each trial we encounter.

I’m reminded of an example used in one of our Wednesday night studies: Who do you want giving you directions? Someone who has been there before. Wherever you are, Jesus has been there before and He will lead you through on the right path if you will follow Him. “Trust in the LORD with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs  3:5-6

I had chemo the week leading up to Christmas, but was feeling better on Saturday. We enjoyed a wonderful Christmas Eve with our kids reading the story of Jesus birth, giving gifts to one another, and spending a great day together as a family. Christmas Day we were to have the children’s Christmas program at church, followed by a shortened sermon by Eric, and then head off to my parent’s house in Iowa to celebrate Christmas with my family, followed by Christmas with Eric’s family on Monday, before heading home for my chemo treatment on Tuesday.

Eric decided to throw a wrench in our carefully laid plans by having a kidney stone attack Christmas morning, which resulted in ending his sermon early so I could take him to the ER. After confirming it was a 2mm kidney stone, and getting fluids, and pain meds, we packed up and headed on our way to Iowa. We still were able to have a good time with family! Well, I don’t know how much of it Eric remembers… 😉

Thankfully we had already planned to leave the kids with Grandma for the week. Between Eric’s pain from the kidney stone and his meds and my chemo side effects, it wasn’t really the time we had anticipated spending alone together that week. Thankfully, we seemed to be just well enough to take care of each other at the right times. Eric is still feeling pain from the kidney stone, even though it was determined that he passed it sometime this past week. Pray the pain will pass soon or he can manage it well enough to fulfill his responsibilities.

We did enjoy a fun family outing to Monster Jam last weekend! We hadn’t really done any special outings as a family since our weekend vacation in July, so thought it would be a fun activity, especially for our boys who love trucks, cars, planes, trains, etc. They loved going into the pits and seeing the huge trucks up close and were on the edge of their seats watching the show! Faith even said she never thought she would like trucks so much. Even though Eric and I were both exhausted when we got home, it was a great to spend time with the kids doing something special!

I’ve also had some special times to spend on mother/daughter dates with Faith. I get to spend each day with my boys while she is at school, so it was nice to have some time just with her. We had a lunch date with some shopping one day. And we spent this past Saturday selling Girl Scout cookies together. (Now I’m getting hungry. Why do those cookies have to be sooooo good?!) I still can’t believe my little girl will turn 9 this Saturday. What a precious gift she is to us!

Tomorrow is my final Chemo Day!!!! I’m so excited to be done with the chemo! 🙂 I’m also a little sad that I won’t get to spend time with my fellow chemo patients and the wonderful nurses and staff anymore. Maybe I’ll have to come visit…;)

It’s hard to believe chemo will really be over. It’s been a part of my life since March 22nd, 2011. What a journey God has brought me through this past year. I don’t know how I ever could have made it without God’s peace and strength each day. I truly know that God is good all the time!

 

One Response to “Last Chemo Day!!!”

  1. Tonna Says:

    Great update. Long 10 months but you’re faith has been an inspiration to all of us!


Leave a Reply

