In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Milestones March 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:30 PM

I have now finished my first week of radiation! 4 treatments done out of 33. I did have to get a tiny tattoo at each of the spots they use to line up the machine to direct the radiation to the precise location needed. I never thought I would get a tattoo, let alone 7! ๐Ÿ˜‰ They are each only a dot. They tell me they will fade over time and just look like a little freckle.

Radiation is a painless process. It is just like getting an x-ray only a bit longer. They position the machine 3 times to target 3 different areas; the whole process takes about 20 minutes. The only uncomfortable part has been my arm falling asleep from being up over my head for so long. The techs and nurses are wonderful and very kind! We’ve been getting to know each other a bit more each day in our short time together.

The other milestone I’ve reached this past week is 1 year on my journey through breast cancer. March 2, 2011 was the day that I found the lump and began the process that discovered I had breast cancer. It’s hard to believe it has been an entire year. It’s one of those times where time seems to go way too slow at times and that it has gone by way too fast at others.

It’s also one of those times where God has allowed me to look back and remember the good things and not all the bad. You have to persevere to grow and change where you need to, and as you do you experience God’s peace, love, and joy. God has allowed me to grow in my relationship with Him in so many ways along this journey. I have experienced His peace as I never have before. I trust Him with my life and know that He loves me with an indescribable and inexplicable love. Just as a father, He wants the very best for me, His daughter.

Have you claimed the peace, love, and joy that God offers you today? Can you exult in your current situation as Romans 5:3-5 says? “We also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” God offers us hope in any trial, because of His great love for us!

Thank you all for your love and prayers! If you don’t receive our family and ministry updates, you can see our latest update on our family website: www.wilmeth.org.

 

One Response to “Milestones”

  1. Kristen Warden Says:

    Amy-
    My name is Kristen Warden. I am with the NE RBC Ladies group. I just wanted to thank you for your strength and encouragement. God has really used you to bless and encourage so many. I am so amazed how through it all you have not only given all the glory to God, but you have been able to find glory on your journey. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your beautiful family. I had the priveledge to meet your husband and son at the NARBC conferences at my home church TBC- Lincoln. May God continue to bless you and keep you safe ๐Ÿ™‚ KW


Leave a Reply

