In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Radiation Halfway Done! March 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:16 AM

Today was day 17 of  33, so I am officially halfway done with my radiation treatments! Praise the Lord! I am just starting to barely see a little pink on the skin over on my side, so the sunburn side effects should be coming soon. This is actually a good thing, because then we know the skin is getting enough radiation to make sure I don’t develop skin cancer at the site. My skin will rejuvenate, but the cancer cells (if there are any) will not.

My only other side effect so far is still the fatigue. I never did get my energy back in between chemo and starting radiation, but I’m so glad to be done feeling sick and having the headaches! I am so thankful for all my wonderful hubby does for me. I am noticing how much that really is this week as he is out of town for work. Thanks to all my dear friends who have helped out with childcare and meals this week. It has been such a blessing! God gives me energy to do the things I need to do and others to help bear the burdens I can’t right now. God is so good! He always provides for our needs and makes a way through any trial we are facing.

God is giving me more and more opportunities to share my hope with others around me, so please pray that I will have boldness and the Spirit will give me the words to say to help and encourage those that are hurting.

I was recently given a link to a list called 36 Purposes of God in our Suffering. It definitely hit home as far as ways God has worked and is working in my life through this cancer journey. I hope to dig into the scripture references and study them out in my future Bible study time. If you are wondering why God is allowing suffering in your life right now, maybe it’s one of the purposes on this list. No matter what the God’s purpose in your specific situation,

“we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

 

3 Responses to “Radiation Halfway Done!”

  1. nannykramer Says:

    I love how you said it, ” God gives me energy to do the things I need to do and others to help bear the burdens I can’t right now.” What a blessing that is–what a joy to serve one another. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your blog. You have a special way of speaking Truth and encouraging us to seek the Lord.

  2. Tonna Says:

    Thank you for your encouragement in the midst of all this. Praying still thru the rest of this journey!

  3. Kristen Warden Says:

    Happy to hear that things are going “well.” You are of course always in my thoughts and prayers. You strength continues to amaze me!! I only wish I lived closer and could help you out in some way!
    God Bless!


Leave a Reply

