In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Radiation Finished!!! April 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:10 AM

Graduation from Radiation!

I have now completed my 33 radiation treatments! “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” (Phil. 4:4) My wonderful radiation therapists even had a certificate of completion for me. They made each day a joy by their caring spirits and excellent work. Thanks so much to Lisa, Brandy, Brooke, Dave, Marie, and Dr. M! You are such a blessing to so many people in a challenging time.

The 6-1/2 weeks of daily treatments actually went by fairly quickly for me. 🙂 My skin did really well too. I do have radiation burns and some of the burned skin is pealing, but it could have been much worse. My doctor and radiation therapists were actually surprised by how well my fair skin fared the radiation. It hasn’t been too itchy, and barely any pain. I am still very easily fatigued and often require a nap to make it through the day. Now that treatment is done, I am looking forward to having more energy and stamina as I go about my daily routines. Thank you all for your prayers to sustain me through my treatment. God is so good!!

Now I get to enjoy an entire week of no doctor’s appointments! I celebrated by having a lazy morning of sleeping in till 7:45 and lounging around in my PJs. 🙂 Next week I have my 6 month followup with my surgeon and a monthly check with my chemotherapy oncologist. I also need to schedule an appointment with my plastic surgeon now that radiation is done. I am looking forward to seeing my doctors and nurses again and I’m hoping I will get a chance to see some of my fellow cancer patients and share with them how God has blessed in my life recently.

Tired kids pile into the wagon at the zoo.

This past week we were able to enjoy the first of the many gifts from my Bible study gals and their families, given to us on Easter! If you missed this amazing story, see my last blog post here. We are still amazed and praising God for His provision for us through these fellow brothers and sisters in Christ! Monday was the last day of Spring Break for Faith, so Eric took the day off work and we used our new zoo membership gift to go to the Zoo with another family from our church. We had a great time together as a family, enjoying all our favorites at the zoo, including the recently renovated aquarium. God made so many amazing things for us to enjoy in His creation, how can we ever doubt He will take care of our every need! I have to admit I was completely exhausted after the day. I fell asleep during the IMAX movie and then again shortly after dinner that night, but it was worth it to be able to spend time with family and friends going out and doing something normal again. I am so thankful for these blessings! There are so many things we take for granted until they are taken from us. Don’t forget to praise God for the little blessings as well as the big. God is good, all the time!

 

Leave a Reply

