In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Suprise Weekend Celebration! April 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:48 PM

My awesome friends waiting to surprise me in our house Friday night! What a great way to celebrate the end of my cancer!

I have to admit I had no idea what my wonderful husband had planned to celebrate the end of my cancer treatments. We returned home from the school carnival Friday night to find our group of friends from college waiting in the dark in our house to surprise me! They had a sign and a cake and everything. They were all able to stay for a weekend of fun, food, and games just like old times. (I even won at Quiddler, just like old times! 😉 ) It was great to have that time to relax and catch up with each of them. I think we decided it had been at least 2 years since the entire group had been back together. It is neat to see the different paths God has taken each of our lives on. It was also fun to have some babies in the house again. My kids LOVE babies, so they were busy playing with them every chance they got.

My hubby has apparently been planning this for a while, and even had to change the date when another conflict came up. He was a master planner though, because I had no idea! There were a few things he had done that were a little out of the ordinary or that he didn’t elaborate on like normal. He’s lucky I’m so trusting and didn’t ask any questions that he had to dodge! He claims to have pulled it off without telling me any fibs along the way. I am so blessed with such a wonderful, caring, supportive, and trustworthy husband by my side through any challenges we may face in this life! Love you until forever, Honey!

Some of the gals in our group were a little concerned about me having 10 unexpected house guests for an entire weekend, but it was definitely better to have my friends here than to have a completely clean house for them. After all, there are more important things in this life than a clean house, and time with great friends is definitely one of them! Love all of you guys! Thanks for coming and making my weekend celebration so special!

“May we shout for joy over your victory and lift up our banners in the name of our God. May the LORD grant all your requests.” Psalm 20:4-6

 

One Response to “Suprise Weekend Celebration!”

  1. Connie Says:

    WOO-HOO…yeah end of treatments!!
    What a great (and slightly crazy) group of friends! The best kind to have! Kudos, Eric…you get bonus ‘hubby points’ for pulling that off! 🙂 Love you guys!


Leave a Reply

