In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

FINAL Surgery Tuesday! Yay!!! September 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:53 PM

I am SO excited to reach my (hopefully) FINAL surgery on this cancer journey! It has been an amazing experience for me and I wouldn’t change it or take it back even if I could. God has shown himself faithful, has provided for all our needs, and grown my faith so much over these last 18 months! It has not been an easy road, but no one said that life is easy. 😉

Here is a checklist of the BIG things completed over these last 18 months:

4 months of “hard” Chemotherapy Treatments-CHECK

5 Surgeries to remove all the cancer in my body-CHECK

3 months of “mild” Chemotherapy Treatments-CHECK

33 Radiation treatments to kill any remaining cancer cells-CHECK

FINAL Reconstruction Surgery-almost CHECK!!!

God has shown me that our joy does not have to depend on our circumstances. Our joy comes from Him and He wants our joy to be full! As Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” I can trust our sovereign God to take care of me through any trial that comes. I know He has allowed this cancer journey for a reason and He will cause all things to work together for good. Such an amazing peace comes from knowing that God is in control and I don’t need to worry about what will come.

Thanks to all those who have volunteered to help with our kids and bring our family meals during the recovery process. You are such a blessing to us! Thank you all for your continued prayers as I complete my treatments tomorrow with this last reconstruction surgery! This is just an outpatient surgery to begin 10am, and I should be home around 2pm if all goes according to plan. I will try to update my blog as I can to let you all know how my surgery and recovery goes.

 

One Response to “FINAL Surgery Tuesday! Yay!!!”

  1. Nicki Says:

    Praying for you Amy!


Leave a comment