In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Cancer Again October 11, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:25 PM

My dear friends,

Yesterday afternoon we heard those dreaded words again, “The biopsy results are back, and you do have cancer.” The impact this time is totally different, since I will enter my 8th week of pregnancy tomorrow. My treatment options are somewhat limited, and time is even more of the essence.

I am so thankful that we serve a Sovereign God who knows where these steps are taking us. In our own human perspective, the last couple weeks are not what we would have picked or hoped for, but God has a purpose and a plan for each thing He allows in our lives. He will work this out for our good and for His glory!

I am thankful for the peace that passes all understanding that God has given me and my family through this. I pray that we can display the attitude of Paul in Philippians 1: 18b-20:

“Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayers and the provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, according to my earnest expectation and hope, that I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death.”

I am scheduled for surgery tomorrow (Friday) at 1pm to try to remove all of the cancer. It is somewhat uncertain how this surgery will go. I cannot have all the normal scans done to see the extent of the cancer since I am pregnant. We are hoping that the cancer is just under the skin in the bumps that we can see and feel, and that my surgeon will be able to remove all of those and have clear margins.

We are so thankful for the outpouring of love and support we have in all of our family and friends. Our God is great and greatly to be praised! Please join us in praying that God will be glorified in each aspect of this situation we are facing now. Here are the verses that God has used to encourage my heart this week:

“Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

 

16 Responses to “Cancer Again”

  1. Cori Says:

    We are staring at our screens in deep sorrow over this news. Many prayers for you all and the precious baby you are carrying.

  2. Kim Says:

    Amy – May your Faith pull you through the next nine months with continued strength, courage, hope, and love and may your surgeon’s hands remove all of your cancer tomorrow, and bring you a renewed sense of relief. We will pray for you and your family tomorrow and in the months to come.

  3. jennel Clarke Says:

    All my love & prayers to you for complete & total recovery ❤

  4. Michelle Kazor Says:

    Thoughts and prayers go out to you dear Amy. You have been through so much!

  5. Debbie Says:

    Eric & Amy, we love you & we’re praying for you. God is great and greatly to be praised…your testimony through good & bad news is a beautiful example of HIS WORK in your heart & lives. We hurt with and for you but we also rejoice with and for you in KNOWING GOD IS GOOD ALWAYS. We love you dear family in Christ, Keith & Debbie

  6. Nicki Says:

    We are praying for you and your family Amy. Also praying for a successful surgery. God is in control!

  7. cchuff Says:

    Love and prayers to you and your family.

  8. dave ademeit Says:

    Amy and Eric, with growing up with you two most of my life I have seen you two grow together from the time you started being friends to dating. You too love each other so much that it is known when people see you too. You and Eric can get through anything and you will get through this. Love you both. Let me now if you need anything. I really mean it. God is good, God is great, you too are wonderful. Keep up the faith.

  9. Todd Daily Says:

    Just read this morning John 14:1 “Let not your heart be troubled, you believe in God, believe also in Me.”
    Will be praying for you.

  10. Chris Brauns Says:

    Amy, we are praying for you. Rest in Christ!

  11. Jennifer Jones Says:

    I will be praying for you!

  12. Our family is praying for you and your family, Amy. We are rejoicing at the new life that you carry and praying for safety for the baby and healing for your body. We trust that our great and mighty God will care for you and will be glorified through your life!!

  13. gentry karas- burton Says:

    I will be praying for you, I hope all went well with the surgery and your faith is amazing!

  14. Jill Thomsen Says:

    Your family is in our prayers. My heart is heavy with sorrow. I will be praying for you.

  15. Becky Says:

    We and our church will be praying for you, Eric, the kids, and your precious baby. God bless and keep you.

    Becky Osborne (GSBC)

  16. Kathy and Denny Parrott Says:

    We are Macy’s grandparents. We will be praying for you on your journey. God will be with you every step of the way and may he give you comfort.


Leave a Reply

