In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Surgery Update October 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:46 PM

Thank you, my dear friends, for all your prayers and support! We are so overwhelmed by God’s goodness to us through each of you! We can’t say thank you enough for all the prayers, messages, calls, texts, and comments of encouragement.

I am home and feeling much better now after resting a lot and getting the pain under control. Here is the medical update. I will try not to be too graphic, but it was a pretty serious surgery. This is how I understand what the surgeon told us:

She had to remove a 6 inch by 6 inch section of skin and tissue on my breastbone/chest area. I now have a wound vac in place until we receive the results of the pathology report. If there are clear margins and they got all of the cancer, I will have another surgery next week to take out my tissue expanders and close up the wound area. Thankfully I have the expanded skin from the breast reconstruction process to be able to do this hopefully without any skin grafting!

I will be updating my CareCalendar for those that live in the area that have offered to help out with meals, housecleaning, and childcare. Thank you so much-our family could not do this without you! You can email me for the login info.

Thank you again to all who are being my prayer warriors. God is hearing and answering your prayers! What an amazing and loving God we serve!

“But now, thus says the Lord, your Creator, O Jacob,
And He who formed you, O Israel,
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by name; you are Mine!
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And through the rivers, they will not overflow you.
When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched,
Nor will the flame burn you.
“For I am the Lord your God,
The Holy One of Israel, your Savior;”

Isaiah 43:1-3

 

2 Responses to “Surgery Update”

  1. Mary Ellen Wires Says:

    Love that passage. God calls you by your name, Amy. It’s nice to know that Deuteronomy 33:27 – ” The God of old is a dwelling-place, with everlasting arms beneath…” CJB

  2. Valerie Calderon Says:

    Amy,
    Praying for peace that passes all understanding as you are recovering from this surgery and that you will know rest and hope in Him. Thank you for sharing your journey with us so we know how to pray.


Leave a Reply

