In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Update & Next Surgery October 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:46 PM

Thank you all so much for your prayers and support. I can’t thank you enough and it’s wonderful to see God answering our prayers in the little things along the way!

I want to update you all so you can better know how to pray for and support us. I was sent home from the surgery last Friday with an open wound and a wound vac. On Saturday night into Sunday morning the wound vac was having issues and so on Monday we had to remove it at the doctor’s office and dress the wound with bandages. That was not an experience I wish to do again. I am thankful that God answered our prayers and took away my nausea from morning sickness just before we began this procedure so I did not get sick from the pain! I am also so very thankful my wonderful husband is not squeamish and was there holding my hand the entire time. He also has the fun job of redressing my wound each day until the next surgery. What a loving and wonderful husband God has given me to nurse me through this time!

We did receive the preliminary report from pathology today that there were NOT clear margins on the right side and there is more cancer there. This was not the news we were hoping for. So the plan now is to proceed with surgery on Thursday at 2:30pm, where they will try to re-excise the right side in hopes of getting all the cancer, remove my tissue expanders, and close up the wound. The problems the surgeon faces is not knowing exactly where or how much cancer is there and needing to have enough tissue left to be able to close up the wound area. I know all those working on my case are very caring and giving me the best care and attention they possibly can, but there are a lot of hurdles to overcome in my VERY unique case. Pray for wisdom for all involved and the ability to be able to identify the cancer and remove it all!

My next step after the surgery is to meet with my Chemotherapy Oncologist on Friday to go over my options for chemo while pregnant. Please pray for wisdom in those decisions as well. We want to be able to control/reverse the growth of any cancer that may be remaining, but we also don’t want to harm our precious little baby either.

Also, here is a link to our latest Wilmeth Wire that gives some more information on Eric’s work situation. We are so thankful for God’s promise in our time of need:

“And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

We see a lot of needs right now, but we serve an awesome God who is able to supply every one of them! Thank you all for your continued prayers and support as we continue this cancer journey!

 

7 Responses to “Update & Next Surgery”

  1. tonna Says:

    no this is not the report we were praying for. we continue to stand with you and fight. we continue to believe with you in a mighty god who is able to do immeasurably more than we can even ask or even think. we love you and continue the journey with you, sweet amy and eric, faith, adam, and ethan

  2. Chris Brauns Says:

    Amy, I am reading these and many people in our church are praying for you and your family.

  3. David Says:

    Moved by your testimony as I read it this morning. Indeed the harder life is, the more preciouse the Lord becomes. Thank you for being “renewed day by day” in the inner man. Thanks for your faith. By your writing you’re documenting proof that their is a Saviour who is the “God of ALL comfort”. It is undeniable in your continence which does come across on the page.

    Praying much.

  4. Heather Schoening Says:

    You don’t know me, but I was told of your story and prayer request and will add you and your precious family to our prayers. God is good, I have good feeling about this situation. I will pray for strength in your situation mentally,spiritually, and physically and for the doctors hands to be guided by the Lord himself.
    If you are in a financial need I may be able to help with this, don’t hesitate to contact me.
    Praying faithfully, Heather 🙂

  5. Kristen Warden Says:

    Serious bummer, but you have the Lord on your side! You continue to let the God shine through you and that is such an encouragement. PTL for no morning sickness- praying for Baby Wilmeth and Mommy Wilmeth as the pregnancy progresses. I will certainly be thinking and praying for you, baby, and doctors tomorrow 🙂
    Love and Prayers!
    Kristen

  6. Joanie Says:

    Hello Amy, my name is Joanie Koder, I am Diane Larson’s daughter. I have been reading your post and wow what a unique story you have. My heart is with you. I know exactly what you mean about the wound vac. The pain that comes with changing that is so intense. back in 2008 when I had my liver transplants they would have to change that twice a week and I would dread it every time, you never get used to it. I admire your strength and passion to bring others to Christ through your testimony! You have a beautiful family! I am also going into surgery tomorrow, where they will remove the wound vac and replace fat tissue and skin from my resection of leiomyosarcoma cancer. I will continue to pray for you and your family and that sweet baby you are carrying. For God to guide the hands on of the surgeons tomorrow and all margins will be cleared! God Bless you and your family!

  7. Helen Wilson Says:

    Praying for you today. Sent your blog to Pastor Van and Sheri. God bless you sweetie. Love you.

    Aunt Helen

    Helen L. Wilson


Leave a Reply

