In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Feeling Great After Surgery! PTL! October 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 6:44 PM

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for all the prayers for the surgery today! God is so good! I know that He answered your prayers in a HUGE way. I had absolutely NO nausea before or after surgery today! This was completely opposite of last Friday. I had such a hard time getting the nausea under control and just felt so groggy and out of it. Today my pain never went above a 2 on the scale and I have felt great! I know this is a direct answer to the thousands of prayers that have been brought to the Throne of Grace on my behalf. Praise the Lord for His excellent greatness!

The surgery went well. My surgeon did take more tissue all the way around and more on the right side where the margins showed cancer. We will have to wait for the pathology report to find out if there are clear margins this time around. My surgeon then took out my tissue expanders and was able to close up my wound without any trouble.

Eric had a great opportunity to share with our surgeon why we can have the attitude we do through this whole process. She couldn’t believe that we have never been angry about anything we’ve been through and always have a positive attitude. Eric was able to share how our hope is in the Lord and we are relying on His strength in our time of need. His strength is perfect in our time of weakness. He has given us such amazing peace, especially these past two weeks with the new cancer diagnosis. We have not worried at all, but have been able to trust Him fully that He will work this out for our good in the end. I’m so glad He is the one in control of everything, so we don’t have any reason to worry.

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us,to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20

I have seen God answer this promise to us today. Thank you all for your part through your prayers. Rejoice with us in His grace and mercy to us!

 

9 Responses to “Feeling Great After Surgery! PTL!”

  1. Tonna Says:

    Woo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Kari Says:

    God is good all the time! All the time God is good! Praising Him for those answers to prayer! Will continue to pray!

  3. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    “For thou wilt save the afflicted people; but wilt bring down high looks. For thou wilt light my candle: the LORD my God will enlighten my darkness. For by thee I have run through a troop; and by my God have I leaped over a wall. As for God, his way is perfect:the word of the LORD is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him. For who is God save the LORD? or who is a rock save our God? It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect.” Psalm 18:27-32
    Continuing in prayer for you and yours. Praise God for the grace he has shown your family.

  4. I worship our Lord as it was His grace over you and Eric and the baby!! Pls know that all my sisters in Christ in California are praying for you!!

  5. Bren Hiers Says:

    God Rocks!!!

  6. Rachael Says:

    When I went through this I was sad that the cancer can’t be easily seen and that the lab stain takes too long to “activate” so that is why you have to wait to find out if clear margins are obtained, they can’t leave you laying under anesthesia and put the stain in you and wait for it to let them know if they got it all. sigh. At least that’s what I understood. So…. the tissue expanders. I had those too…. maybe those will go back in later? I am so happy to hear of your trusting attitude. I think I was numb through a lot of my experience just sort of one day at a time and hoping…

  7. Tami Says:

    You are such an inspiration! You and your entire family, I read your posts and they help me in so many ways! I am still praying for you!

  8. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    Still in prayer for you Amy and the whole family. Our God is an Amazing God !!!


Leave a Reply

