In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Surgery…Again…Monday November 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 8:17 PM

We’ve had another change in what we thought was going to be the plan. 🙂 We were anticipating moving on to the chemotherapy part of treatment next, but our doctors have decided that it would be best to do another surgery. We will try once more to remove as much of the cancer as possible. So after hearing that news around noon today, it has been a flurry of activity! I called my surgeon and she was already trying to get me scheduled for surgery on Monday morning.

My oncologist wanted me to have an echocardiogram before I start chemo to make sure my heart has not been affected by my previous chemo treatments, so that was scheduled for this afternoon. We also decided it would be good to check the lymph nodes on the right side to make sure the cancer had not spread that far. If it had, my surgeon would be able to remove any affected lymph nodes during surgery on Monday as well. So that meant getting an ultrasound of my lymph nodes this afternoon too. Of course none of my appointments/tests could be scheduled at the same location on such short notice, so we were running all over Omaha to different medical buildings. We were able to make it just in time for each appointment. 🙂

The good news we found out today is that the lymph nodes on the right side look normal! They don’t see anything to indicate the cancer has spread to the lymph nodes! Praise the Lord for this good news in the chaos of all that is going on!

Now we are once again preparing for surgery (this will be surgery #8 on this cancer journey). It will be on Monday morning at 10:30am. Please keep our family and the surgeons and medical staff in your prayers. It would be wonderful to finally hear that we have clear margins and they got all of the cancer tumor(s) out! We are once again trusting in the Lord to direct our path on this cancer journey. Thank you all for your continued prayers and support!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

 

4 Responses to “Surgery…Again…Monday”

  1. Jeanette Wade Says:

    Oh wow Amy! We’ve been praying for knowledge for the doctors and good health for you and the baby:) We will continue to be praying!!!!! Hang in there! I’m sure you are sore:( God will give you the strength as He holds you through this too!

  2. Erin Says:

    Love ya Amy! We will continue praying.

  3. Katy Says:

    Amy, we have chatted a couple of times over the last few years. My son Nick has been in Faith’s classes over the years. I have been so concerned for your sweet family since I heard the news. You are truly in my prayers and I marvel at your faith and your calm as you face the trials of cancer. What a beautiful example you are, you give yourself completely to our Heavenly Father. One of my favorite quotes is “Let go and Let God.” I think you have done this in so many ways. I believe in the power of prayer and I also believe that there is an all knowing Lord who is mindful of you and knows you personally. He knows of your worries and your fears. I am so thankful that you know him so intimately, and I can’t imagine facing a trial like this without him by your side. Congratulations on the news of having another child. That is very exciting news in a time of much concern I am sure. Much love,
    Katy Williams

  4. Kristen Warden Says:

    We will certainly be praying for you guys this morning. Yesterday in Adult Bible Study we talked some about endurance and what it means and examples of it… All I could think of was you and your family and the joyful endurance God has given you. Praise the Lord for the good news with the lymph nodes!


Leave a Reply

