In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Chemo Friday, Fundraiser Sunday! November 28, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 5:01 PM

We have a busy week for doctor’s appointments this week! On Monday we were able to have an ultrasound and see our little baby blessing. 🙂 He or she is doing very well! We even got to see some kicking during the ultrasound. There was a good strong heartbeat and everything is measuring right on for about 14 1/2 weeks. We are so thankful God has given us this bright, happy blessing in the midst of this trial!

I also had a checkup with my surgeon today and my incisions are still healing very well. I had a lot of the stitches taken out already last week, but will have to wait one more week to have the rest taken out. We want to make sure everything heals up really well with the stretching to come with little baby getting bigger all the time! She did clear me to go ahead with chemotherapy this Friday as scheduled. We don’t want to give the cancer that remains a chance to grow and spread, so we need to start the chemo to attack it. They do give me steroids with my chemo that will give me tons of energy through the weekend until they wear off on Monday and I feel the chemo effects. I will most likely be taking the same “hard” chemo I took during my first bout with cancer back in 2011, so I anticipate the same type of side effects. (Yes, I will lose my hair again, as many have asked about. Thankfully it grows fairly fast once chemo is done!) Please pray that baby will be protected from the chemo by the placenta as we have been assured it will. Also pray for opportunities to share our hope and strength with fellow cancer patients. When you sit in the chemo room with them for 3-4 hours, it gives you a lot of time to get to know someone if they are open.

We have been SO blessed by SO many already in response to the community fundraiser for our family! It’s hard to believe it is THIS SUNDAY! I cannot wait to see so many of you that I haven’t had the opportunity to see for a while!!!! If you haven’t already, you can pre-purchase tickets right here on my blog until Saturday at 8pm for $8/adult, $4/child, $25/family max. Tickets will be available at the door for $10/adult, $5/child, $30/family max. Come join us for a fabulous spaghetti dinner from Mangia’s, a silent auction with many great items (perfect for Christmas shopping!), and more on Sunday from 11am-3pm. I want to thank all of you who have prayed for this event or helped in some way! We are praying God will use our story to encourage those in the community and friends and family with the hope, strength, peace, and joy that only God can give in your time of need.

“Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

 

2 Responses to “Chemo Friday, Fundraiser Sunday!”

  1. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    Praying that our Lord will put a blanket of protection around your precious unborn sweetie. Praising God for your testimony and continuing in prayer for you all.

  2. You’re on our prayer list as we earnestly pray for you, Eric, and your precious baby.


Leave a Reply

