In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Successful Chemo Day! December 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:41 AM

This is the day which the Lord has made;
Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good;
For His lovingkindness is everlasting.

~Psalm 118:24, 29

We had a successful first day of chemotherapy yesterday! My oncologist had finished his consultations with other experts and agreed that we should go ahead with the type of chemo he had recommended, adriamycin, that has proven to be safe for baby. The plan is to have chemo every Friday for 3 weeks and then one week off. This will allow the dosage to be split up over the three weeks and not all at once like before. This should help to lessen my side effects and help keep my blood counts more stable. We are hoping to continue this treatment for 4 months, as long as there are no other complications, and then switch to another type of  “baby safe” chemo until baby is born in May. After that we will be able to assess the situation and decide on what course to continue on to fight off the rest of the cancer, if any remains.

Having a smaller dosage of chemo and only one type of chemo made our stay in the chemo room very short! Previously it had taken 3-4 hours to get the pre-meds and chemo drugs, but this only took about an hour. We did have a chance to see one of my former chemo buddies as she was leaving when we were coming in. We also had a chance to meet three new chemo patients and start to hear their stories and share ours. Continue to pray that God will open doors and use these opportunities to encourage those we meet.

My steroids that they administer with the chemo have kicked in this morning! I woke up at 4am and have gotten quite a bit done. It is sooo nice to wake up with energy! I’ve been looking forward to this benefit of the chemo, since I haven’t ever gotten my full energy back since beginning chemo back in March of 2011. The fatigue takes a VERY long time to recover from. Now I am able to catch up and hopefully get ahead on my housework. I will enjoy my energy until the steroids wear off on Monday sometime and the chemo effects will start. Please pray the effects will be lessened by this method of administering the chemo!

Only one more day to go! I am so excited to see so many friends, new and old, TOMORROW at our fundraiser!!! I know God has worked it out to give me this special energy to enjoy my day with everyone. I have heard that the donations for the Silent Auction Items and Raffle Items has now reached a value of $15,000!!! Wow, I can’t even believe that so many people and organizations are willing to help out in this way! With the selection of items, I’m sure everyone will be able to find something. 🙂 Thank you all for your love, support, and prayers!!! God is so good!!

(Remember you can still pre-purchase ticket to the fundraiser until 8PM TONIGHT. Just click on the link in the right sidebar on my blog. Ticket will be available at the door also.)

 

One Response to “Successful Chemo Day!”

  1. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    Tears of JOY for you and your family ! Praise God for sure ! Praying for increased energy for you Amy !!!


Leave a Reply

