In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Rejoicing Exceedingly with Great Joy! December 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:21 PM

“She will bear a Son; and you shall call His name Jesus, for He will save His people from their sins.  …and the star, which they had seen in the east, went on before them until it came and stood over the place where the Child was. When they saw the star, they rejoiced exceedingly with great joy. After coming into the house they saw the Child with Mary His mother; and they fell to the ground and worshiped Him. Then, opening their treasures, they presented to Him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh.” Matthew 1:21, 2:9-11

As I think about my precious Savior this Christmas season, I am reminded of the great joy Jesus brings through His salvation! Today we received word that someone very dear to our hearts has accepted Jesus Christ as their Savior! We have been rejoicing exceedingly with great joy all day long! We rejoice that this loved one will one day be with us in heaven, where we will all present gifts to Jesus just as the wise men in the Christmas story did. If we know Christ as Savior, we will spend forever rejoicing exceedingly with great joy in heaven with Him! What a day of rejoicing that will be!

God has given us many reasons to rejoice over the past week! We have heard many stories of those touched by God’s work in our lives that has spurred them to grow in their own faith and trust God more fully. We are so encouraged that God is working in so many lives around us! We are so thankful that God gave us the opportunity to share His faithfulness, hope, and love with so many through the fundraiser last weekend. We were overwhelmed and humbled by the love and support of so many people. If God is working in your life and growing your faith and trust, I would love to hear your story as well! I would be so encouraged if you would take a moment to share it with me personally.

The final numbers from the fundraiser were revealed yesterday at a wonderful time of Celebration with those dear families responsible for organizing this fundraiser:

(Drum roll please…)

There were over 800 people served at the fundraiser dinner!

There were over 90 volunteers on the day of the event!

After all the numbers were in from all donations, silent auction sales, raffle ticket sales, t-shirt sales, bracelet sales, baked goods sales, and dinner ticket sales the fundraiser was able to present our family with a check for…

benefit check

Yes, that’s right….$40,785!!!!

We are still in shock over how much that really is. We are overwhelmed by the love and generosity of so many people that were a part of this. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all you have done for our family. We know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) Thank you for being a part of God working things together for our good in this situation!

Medical Update: We were thankful for the opportunity to hear our baby’s heartbeat today at our appointment, and all indications are that he or she is doing fine! We will have another ultrasound next month to check up on how our little one is doing and hopefully find out if we have a little boy or a little girl. Any guesses??? 🙂

I did receive my 2nd dose of chemo last Friday, and anticipate the effects from that dose to begin tomorrow. I am very thankful that this past week the side effects were definitely lessened due to the dosage being split up over three weeks instead of all at once. The nausea has not been any worse than my normal “bad” morning sickness day, and the other side effects have been fairly manageable. The biggest challenge was the fatigue. Fatigue from chemo is unlike anything else I’ve ever experienced. No matter how much I rest, I just have no energy to even move. I don’t know if the fatigue will continue to be this severe or not as I continue treatment. I do have a lot of factors contributing to the fatigue: being one month out from my last surgery and continuing to heal, growing the little one in my tummy (and now becoming slightly anemic), and never getting my full energy back from the last 2 years of cancer treatments. I am thankful that the steroids I receive with chemo treatments give me energy over the weekends to catch up on things, spend time with my family, and to be able to continue my ministries in church on Sundays. I am also so very thankful for all the meals, childcare, and cleaning many are helping us out with. And of course I am incredibly thankful for my wonderful, loving husband who takes on my responsibilities and my care in addition to all of his normal responsibilities. Please continue to pray that God will give each of us the strength and endurance we need each day on this journey and that we will continue to have opportunities to share the hope, peace, and love of Christ with those around us.

 

4 Responses to “Rejoicing Exceedingly with Great Joy!”

  1. Wanda Taylor Says:

    You continue to be in our prayers. Last night Herb and I were rejoicing together in God’s provision of the finances. May you rejoice in HIM today!

  2. Joshua Huang Says:

    Oh my! Praise the Lord for His goodness in spiritual, physical, and material needs!

  3. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    When one is praising the Lord for his wonderful works to the Wilmeth family and you know it comes from God’s hand, no human words can express the Joy and Thankfulness to our Lord for his kindness of answered prayer. But being a human, I can say, “Glory to God in the highest.” and WOW !
    What a privilege to be a prayer partner.

  4. Erin Says:

    God is so good, Amy. ❤


Leave a Reply

