In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

He’s Here!!! April 18, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 3:10 AM
Asher James Wilmeth born at 7:18pm 4.17.13 5 lbs 5 oz 18 in long

Asher James Wilmeth
born at 7:18pm 4.17.13
5 lbs 5 oz
18 in long

Announcing the birth of Asher James Wilmeth! Praise the Lord for the safe delivery of our precious little miracle! Thank you all for your many, many prayers for our sweet little boy! We can’t thank you enough for your part in our precious gift from our wonderful Lord!

We did get off to a late start due to other deliveries before us. We finally got started around noon with my OB breaking my water and starting me on pitocin. Things were slow at first, but my body responded and God protected Asher throughout the delivery. Praise the Lord, we were able to deliver naturally as we had been praying, and Asher was born at 7:18pm on 4.17.13 weighing 5 lbs 5oz and measuring 18 inches long. I was able to hold him and look into his beautiful eyes as he grasped my fingers. 🙂 Then he was whisked away to the NICU for evaluation. If you remember, Asher means happiness and joy, and at that moment I experienced such happiness and joy in seeing our precious little miracle that God had given us!
“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” James 1:17

Asher is on oxygen and other helpful measures have been taken. Please continue to pray that he will be stable, grow, and develop as he needs to so he can come home. He is expected to be in the NICU for at least 2 weeks at this time. We are still waiting to see how he does through the night and if any other issues develop.

I am doing well. I was very tired at the end of delivery and afterward for a bit, but God definitely gave me the strength I needed at those times! “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength” (Phil. 4:13) and “The Lord is my strength” (Psalm 28:6) kept going through my mind as labored, as well as thoughts of all those that were praying for Asher’s safe delivery. Thanks to our wonderful God who keeps His promises and hears and answers our prayers!!!

 

10 Responses to “He’s Here!!!”

  1. Jeanette Wade Says:

    Amen! Congratulations! We are all so glad to hear you both did so well! We will continue to be praying for both of you! God is amazing!

  2. Mama Kangaroo Says:

    Wonderful birth story. And again. Congratulations from the Krahn family!
    Thankful for answered prayers, and will continue praying! ((((Hugs)))) to all of you!

  3. Judy Swope Says:

    Praise God and W0W ! His blessings never cease ! What a precious little one,straight from God’s heart. Continuing in prayer for you and Asher and the family.

    Judy Swope

  4. Jen Rauscher Says:

    Praise be to God 🙂 I have tears of joy RIGHT NOW for you Amy 🙂 Keeping you all in our every prayer. -Hugs, Jen Rauscher

  5. Katy Says:

    Not sure if you remember me.. I am NIck Williams mom.. Katy Williams. I See you from time to time and I am always happy to see your bright smiling face. I am so thankful that your sweet blessing is here safe and sound. praying for you that you will continue to make strides against Cancer. I know you will continued to be blessed as our Heavenly Father watches and cares for you. Your baby is precious. Congratulations!

  6. Joshua Huang Says:

    Praise the Lord! Prayed for you yesterday!

  7. Amazing work of our Lord in saving Asher’s life and yours!! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!! We rejoice with you for the birth of your precious son!

  8. Sarah F Says:

    You don’t know me, but you were in my prayers. I’m so glad both of you are doing so well!! I’ll continue praying for you. 🙂

  9. Laura Lee Says:

    Praise the Lord! We will keep praying for you and baby Asher. God is good!

  10. […] as I’ve already shared, Asher was born on Wednesday night. (If you missed that post, click here to read about that amazing blessing!) Asher continues to do well in the NICU and made great strides […]


Leave a Reply

