In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Showers of Blessing! April 19, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 3:35 AM
Free Celebratory Steak Dinner from the hospital!

Free Celebratory Steak Dinner from the hospital!

On Wednesday morning, as I waited to begin our Baby Day, I watched an impressive thunderstorm go through. As I watched the rain shower down, I couldn’t help but thinking of the song There Shall Be Showers of Blessing and how blessed we are by God. Little did I know what He had in store for the rest of this week!

First of all, as I’ve already shared, Asher was born on Wednesday night. (If you missed that post, click here to read about that amazing blessing!) Asher continues to do well in the NICU and made great strides on Thursday. He was put on a ventilator on Thursday morning to help him with breathing, since he seemed to be wearing himself out with his breathing. He is still breathing too fast, so pray that he will learn to breath more slowly and deeply to get the oxygen his little body needs. His lungs do sound good and he continues to breath a lot on his own with the help of the ventilator. They have been able to wean him down little by little throughout the day as he does better. Pray that Asher’s lungs will continue to develop and he will be able to breath normally without wearing himself out. This is a very common complication for babies born at this stage, so we are praising God for the ways they can help him through this medically!

Next, we were all so excited when Asher peed today! (It’s so funny the things you get excited about with a newborn!) He had already had some poopy diapers, but had not peed at all. We were concerned about his kidney function and whether his kidneys had been affected by the Herceptin chemo that I was given for my cancer. He has now had a few wet diapers today, so we are very encouraged that the kidneys are functioning on some level! We hope and pray they continue to increase their output and not have any problems!

Finally, we had even more “beyond amazing”, great news this afternoon from one of my chemo doctors! I was able to have my CT Scan done here in the hospital this afternoon, and my wonderful chemo oncologist couldn’t even wait till tomorrow to see us when she saw the results. She was able to come to our hospital room and see Eric and I to share the news in person! The scan showed ABSOLUTELY NO OTHER CANCER anywhere else other than what we already see and know about! She was genuinely SHOCKED that the cancer was not anywhere else, as they would expect to find in most with a case like mine. WOW! What wonderfully amazing news-a miracle from God! I said this is what we have been praying for, along with so many, many others. My oncologist said to tell all of you that had been praying that IT WORKED!!! Praise the Lord for another HUGE blessing and answer to our prayers! What a great God we serve-truly He is THE Great Physician!

I am scheduled to be released from the hospital Friday, and then go to my chemo office to receive another dose of Herceptin before going home. It will not affect my blood counts, but will continue to attack and destroy the cancer! We have seen it working amazingly well just in these last two weeks I have taken it, and trust it will continue to do it’s job. It is truly amazing the advances in medicine God has given to be able to attack my type of HER2 positive breast cancer without attacking all my other healthy growing cells too, as most chemotherapy does.

We once again can’t thank you all enough for your prayers! Prayer is SO, SO important. Prayer Works! Do not forget what an important part of Team Wilmeth you are when you are praying for us! Thanks to God “who is able to do [and has done!] far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us,to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. (Ephesians 3:20)

Lyrics to There Shall Be Showers of Blessing:

There shall be showers of blessing:
This is the promise of love;
There shall be seasons refreshing,
Sent from the Savior above.Showers of blessing,
Showers of blessing we need;
Mercy-drops round us are falling,
But for the showers we plead.

There shall be showers of blessing-
Precious reviving again;
Over the hills and the valleys,
Sound of abundance of rain.

There shall be showers of blessing;
Send them upon us, O Lord!
Grant to us now a refreshing;
Come, and now honor Thy Word.

There shall be showers of blessing;
O that today they might fall,
Now as to God we’re confessing,
Now as on Jesus we call!

There shall be showers of blessing,
If we but trust and obey;
There shall be seasons refreshing,
If we let God have His way.

 

9 Responses to “Showers of Blessing!”

  1. Mama Kangaroo Says:

    Praise the Mighty Physician indeed! I am so thankful to read this amazing update! Waking up in the middle of the night, never brought such sweet news to my ears! I even woke up Jared to share wWe will continue in prayer

  2. Mama Kangaroo Says:

    Praise the Mighty Physician indeed! I am so thankful to read this amazing update! Waking up in the middle of the night, never brought such sweet news to my ears! I even woke up Jared to share with him! lol! We will continue in prayer for you and Asher, and anticipate The Lord working his grace and mercies! Live you all!

  3. Sharon Sparks Says:

    OH YES!! PRAISE THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS AND MERCY AND HEALING!

  4. prayers4youtoday@shineministry.net Says:

    Hey there Amy! fudgenuts! had a whole post typed up and
    lost it :O( so here we go again! WHAT AN ANGEL SENT STRAIGHT FROM
    HEAVEN ABOVE!!! and look at that hair! One of the most wonderful
    things for me was to nuzzle that against my cheek as I held my
    babes. I called them my Little Fuzz heads! :O) and now they have
    little fuzz heads of their own! The first one born was Chevelle who
    came on Mother’s day last year. Talk abaout hair! He has his dad’s
    double cow licks with long circles coming out of each one on top of
    a couple of inches to go with it. :O) The next one in line is
    Jericho John born in February. Was quite a trip nuzzling his little
    head while looking across the room at his daddy! :O) then to top it
    off, like I said before, my oldest girl is due in December. Still
    have my 13 year old “baby girl” at home and will treasure her while
    it lasts before she thinks I’m a big dummy :O) ok, will go now so I
    can let the Prayer Warriors know the good news!! If you don’t hear
    from me it’s cause we own a company that waterproofs basements and
    I answer the phone so you can imagine how busy I’ve been with all
    this rain, but you are always in my prayers! LOTS of love and hugs.
    Dear Heavenly Father, thank you so much for answering our prayers
    for this family. I pray that all continues to go well with little
    Asher as well as Amy so they can be together for a long time. I
    also ask good health and happiness upon the rest of the family. In
    Jesus’ name, Amen C.O.L.E.(caring openly, loving eternally)Prayer
    Team Dena Hall < http://www.shineministry.net Hello! now
    it's the 19th Am going to post yesterday's
    writings as well cuz I brain f*#ted how to do it and now remember
    how. :O) first thing I gotta say is that you had me laughing out
    loud about the peeing thing cuz been there done that! :O) and also,
    the nurses and I were all carrying on because she drank a half an
    ounce of formula! And I am so glad for modern technology too, cuz
    when my mom had me, she didn't get to hold me for the few
    weeks since I had to be in my incubator, which she said feisty
    little me kept kicking the door open, but it is a good thing cuz
    being that way kept me alive then, and it is still doing so. Pooh
    on illness etc. I'm gonna always fight and I have the best
    army on my side, Jesus, all of the angels Heavenly and earthly ones
    like you and the Prayer Warriors! Then I really let out a holler
    when I read your wonderful news!! YIPPEE WOO HOO AND THANK YOU,
    LORD!!! Ok, the phone is a ringin' and I have to send some
    estimates over. Thanx again for making my day!!!! Dear Heavenly
    Father, thank you so much for hearing our prayers and the healing
    that is occurring. Please let it continue. I also pray blessings
    upon all who are praying for this family and fighting in the
    "army" with them as well. I must also thank you
    for allowing me to be a part of this "army" as
    well. Again, blessings of strength, healing, and joy for this
    family. In Jesus' name, Amen C.O.L.E.(caring openly,
    loving eternally)Prayer Team Dena Hall <
    http://www.shineministry.net Love and God bless, Dena <
    http://www.shineministry.net KEEP SHINING because you might be the only
    Bible some will ever read 🙂 🙂 and keep F. R. O. G. in'
    (Fully Relying On God) SEPTEMBER IS NATIONAL CHILDHOOD CANCER
    AWARENESS MONTH 46 CHILDREN ARE DIAGNOSED AND 7 WILL DIE PER DAY-
    CANCER MAY BE KILLING THEM BUT IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THE
    REASON THEY DIE PLEASE WEAR GOLD AND SPREAD THE WORD FOR MY LITTLE
    BALDIES!! :O) :O) visit http://www.sambishfoundation.org &
    Cole's Foundation http://www.colesfoundation.org 46 MOMMAS SHAVE
    FOR THE BRAVE http://www.stbaldricks.org

  5. Jeanette Wade Says:

    Oh Amy!!! That is all such awesome news!!!!! Amen!!!! The Lord is amazing!!!!!

  6. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    There are times when my heart cannot put things into words, but I want you to know that I am PRAISING THE LORD with you all. The song you quoted truly speaks it. “Precious reviving again ! And we could add, again, and again and again. Continuing in prayer for you all.

  7. Dwayne & JoLene Says:

    AMEN!

  8. Marilou Dockhorn Says:

    OH, I have tears of joy and thankfulness! God is SO faithful!
    Continuing to pray for baby Asher and for you as you continue the chemo tx!


Leave a Reply

