In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Continued Showers of Blessing! April 23, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 5:02 AM

Asher sleeping in Mom's arms

Asher sleeping in Mom’s arms

I have so many wonderful blessings to share, I will see if I can remember them all for this update! God has been so good to us!!!

More good news from my CT Scan

I shared before that we are rejoicing that the CT Scan shows my cancer has NOT spread to any other area that we don’t know about, praise the Lord, THE Great Physician! We did find out some more information on the two areas we are seeing cancer. The tumor on the right side that developed back in February has not grown since switching to the new types of chemo at that time, but has not shrunk either. After seeing the scan, the Radiologist says it looks like the tumor is dying on the inside! I didn’t know it could do that, but when I hear the cancer is dying, that is music to my ears! Also, the rash-like area on the left that developed at the end of March does not show up on the scan. This is good news, because it means the cancer has not invaded the muscle and tissues in that area and there are no tumors. It is most likely just in the skin layer, where we have already seen good response to the Herceptin!

We are so thankful God answered our prayers and I was able to deliver Asher naturally (no C-section to recover from), allowing me to continue my chemotherapy treatments right away! When I was released from the hospital on Friday, we made the trek a few blocks over to the chemo office to receive my Herceptin and Taxotere before going home. This coming Friday I will receive a new drug called Perjeta that also targets HER2 positive breast cancer. There have been very good results using these 3 drugs in combination, so we are very eager to see how the cancer responds!

Asher update

And now what you’ve all been waiting for, an update on our precious little miracle, Asher! He continues to do well in the NICU and improve each day. His kidneys are having good output now; they were just a little slow to get going at first. We are thankful that it appears there will be no lasting affects on his kidneys due to the Herceptin I took!

Asher has been on a ventilator since Thursday to help him not work so hard to breath and help him learn to take deeper breaths. He is still breathing faster and shallower than the doctor would like, but improving each day. Yesterday (Monday) was a very exciting day for Asher, as he had progressed enough that they came and took the ventilator tube out late Monday afternoon. It was so wonderful to hear our little boy’s voice as he cried. While on the vent, you can see him crying when he gets mad or upset, but there is no sound. It was so special just to hear his little tiny cry and sweet little baby noises.

Amy holding Asher in NICU

Amy holding Asher in NICU

What came next was even more special, if that is possible! I was able to hold my sweet little boy in my arms again!!! I had gotten to hold him for a few brief moments following delivery, but he had to be quickly whisked away to the NICU. We have been able to reach into his incubator to touch him and help with his cares, but have not been able to hold him while he was on the ventilator. It was such a joy just to hold him in my arms for nearly an hour, as he slept, wiggled, cried, and looked up into my eyes. What an amazing miracle God has given to us!

Asher also began receiving breast milk through his feeding tube on Saturday and they have steadily increased his feedings since then with no issues. Keep praying that Asher will improve daily and not have to go back on the ventilator. We are continually amazed by God’s love, grace, and mercy! He continues to shower down new blessings each day! Thank you all for your love, prayers and support!

God, in His great, steadfast love, has given us our heart’s desire in our little Asher. David, in Psalm 21:1-7, reflects on how trusting in God leads to receiving the desires of our hearts:

“O Lord, in your strength the king rejoices,
and in your salvation how greatly he exults!
You have given him his heart’s desire
and have not withheld the request of his lips. Selah
For you meet him with rich blessings;
you set a crown of fine gold upon his head.
He asked life of you; you gave it to him,
length of days forever and ever.
His glory is great through your salvation;
splendor and majesty you bestow on him.
For you make him most blessed forever;
you make him glad with the joy of your presence.
For the king trusts in the Lord,
and through the steadfast love of the Most High he shall not be moved.

 

3 Responses to “Continued Showers of Blessing!”

  1. prayers4youtoday@shineministry.net Says:

    Hey there Amy! Wow, thanx again for the smile I get each
    time I open your posts!! and the CT scan news!! YIPEE WOO HOO AND
    THANK YOU, LORD!!!! Our God IS so amazing and believe me you, I
    have been through soooooo many things, including seeing the white
    light, and he has ALWAYS been right by my side, just like with you.
    Don’t have time now, but would LOVE to testify them to you. I am
    not on Facebook or any of that stuff because I am so busy with my
    Little Baldies and being a Prayer Warrior. For some reason, the
    first time it posted my entry on your journal sight, but can’t get
    it to do it again. Anyhew, I am doing this method now, so could you
    shoot me an email back to let me know that you are getting mine?
    Ok, gotta get off the computer and do my piddlin’ around the house
    stuff or I’m gonna fall asleep on here :O) take care and give
    everyone a big fat HUG for me!!! Dear Heavenly Father, thank you
    for the gift of new life which you give to us. I pray that little
    Asher will continue to thrive and that Amy will be cancer free so
    she can live a long life being the mother you chose her to be as
    you gifted her with two precious angels to take care of. Let them
    know you are always there through joys and sorrows. In Jesus’ name,
    Amen Love and God bless, Dena < http://www.shineministry.net KEEP
    SHINING because you might be the only Bible some will ever read 🙂
    🙂 and keep F. R. O. G. in' (Fully Relying On God)
    SEPTEMBER IS NATIONAL CHILDHOOD CANCER AWARENESS MONTH 46 CHILDREN
    ARE DIAGNOSED AND 7 WILL DIE PER DAY- CANCER MAY BE KILLING THEM
    BUT IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THE REASON THEY DIE PLEASE WEAR
    GOLD AND SPREAD THE WORD FOR MY LITTLE BALDIES!! :O) :O) visit
    http://www.sambishfoundation.org & Cole's Foundation
    http://www.colesfoundation.org 46 MOMMAS SHAVE FOR THE BRAVE
    http://www.stbaldricks.org

  2. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    “THIS IS THE LORD’S DOING, IT IS MARVELOUS IN OUR EYE’S” Psm. 118:23

    What a precious gift from God you hold. We are all so praising God with you.

    Thanks to all of you for your testimony of praising the Lord in the midst of the storm and now in a time of Peace. You have been a blessing and strength for many. I praise God for your dependance on him.

    Continuing in prayer for you all.

  3. Joy Goreham Says:

    I am so happy for all the good news! I heard about you indrectly from someone in our chuch and a group of mothers I have been a part of for many years prayed for you and your family last Thursday night. You are loved by people you don’t even know!


Leave a Reply

