In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Our “Little” Miracle! April 30, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 4:39 AM
Asher Bright-Eyed

Asher Bright-Eyed

We are so thankful to all who are praying and supporting our family! We have been so blessed to receive many meals, visits, calls, gifts, cards, flowers, messages, emails, and texts over the last two weeks! It is so encouraging to hear that you are praying for baby Asher and our family and to see God’s answer to those prayers!

Each day Asher has been improving! It’s amazing the difference a week can make. Asher was taken off the CPAP machine that was giving him oxygen through his nose on Saturday! He is now breathing all on his own and doing well! He is still breathing faster than the doctors would like, but is making progress little by little each day. Eric and I were able to give him his first bath on Thursday. He looked so cute with all his fluffy, clean hair after his bath! He also moved out of his incubator and into a regular crib on Sunday night! So far he is doing well at keeping his temperature in the normal range. Asher has seen a lot of changes and made a lot of progress in just a short amount of time!

The next step for Asher will be to start bottle feedings. He is still getting his milk through his feeding tube every three hours. Once his breathing slows down a little more, he should be able to start learning how to eat from a bottle. The average time for mastering bottle feedings is about 10 days. This should be the last step before we can bring our sweet little miracle home from the hospital! We are so thankful for all the doctors, nurses, and staff that God has brought together to care for Asher in the NICU. They are so very caring and willing to do whatever they can to help Asher. What a job they have caring for 25-30 babies in the NICU each day. Join us in praying for these medical professionals as well as those little babies and their families that are facing a difficult time. Pray that God can use us as His instruments to help and encourage those that we meet each day.

Asher Sleeping Peacefully

Asher Sleeping Peacefully

It has been such a joy for us to hold Asher more often and see him more awake and alert each day! He also sleeps very peacefully now, not struggling just to keep up with breathing. I could spend hours just watching him sleep so peacefully and seeing the little expressions on his sweet face. 🙂 As I look at the sweet little boy that God has given us, I can’t help but reflect on what a miracle he is. God orchestrated all the details first to give us this little life, and then to allow my pregnancy to get to the point where Asher could be delivered just as we reached the point of needing to change our attack on my cancer. This was God’s perfect timing! We trusted that God had a plan for this little life he had given to us, knowing that might mean making difficult life and death decisions during my pregnancy, complicated by my battle with cancer. We are rejoicing that God, in His goodness and loving-kindness, made a way for Asher to be born AND for me to fight the cancer!!! Praise the Lord for this amazing miracle!!!

God’s timing was perfect. His hand of protection and healing was on Asher AND me throughout my pregnancy and delivery. We know that whatever the future holds for Asher or for my battle with cancer, God has a plan and will work things out for our good as we continue to trust in Him!

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

 

3 Responses to “Our “Little” Miracle!”

  1. Wanda Taylor Says:

    Rejoicing with you in HIS ABUNDANT BLESSINGS!!

  2. Judi ogrady Says:

    Can’t tell you how happy I am for all of you. Your faith is a testament fir all. May the love and guidance of our Lord Jesus Christ continue to be your greatest joy

  3. prayers4youtoday@shineministry.net Says:

    hey there Amy! Have to tell you that your post just TOTALLY made my day!!!

    I’ll go from the beginning, Monday was a perfect day, starting off with a good 20 min. aerobic workout, getting all of my womanly piddlin’ done around the house, and things were great with the fam. Then woke up at 2:30 am chilling (my daughter just got over this) so my sweet hubby threw a couple of extra blankets on me and went back to sleep. Woke up and he moved me to the couch, kissed me goodbye and left for work. Well started to feel the familiar pain in my chest of pneumonia. The first time I had it, I was seeing the white light. They couldn’t find my blood pressure and I was ambulanced to the hospital from the clinic. My dr’s name was Dr. Angel! and get this, he used to play at the house of some friends at church! Anyhew, thank God I had my hubby take me to the doc instead of going to my daughters band concert :O( cuz my blood pressure was already 108 over 60 and my normal is 130 over 70 to 80. Am doing much better now but still have to get all this gunk out of my lungs and am very frustrated having to sit around all day when I normally never do and just feeing blah. Ok, point of the story is that as soon as I saw precious Asher’s face I yelled out “AWWWW” and all of the bad feelings melted away. Then reading your post made it even better because you quoted my favorite scripture at the end of it!!! Ok, my jiggle is done and I’ve spent too much time on here and need to get back to the couch. Thanx for the wonderful pick me up!

    Love and God bless, Dena < http://www.shineministry.net KEEP SHINING because you might be the only Bible some will ever read 🙂 🙂 and keep F. R. O. G. in' (Fully Relying On God)

    SEPTEMBER IS NATIONAL CHILDHOOD CANCER AWARENESS MONTH 46 CHILDREN ARE DIAGNOSED AND 7 WILL DIE PER DAY- CANCER MAY BE KILLING THEM BUT IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE THE REASON THEY DIE PLEASE WEAR GOLD AND SPREAD THE WORD FOR MY LITTLE BALDIES!! :O) :O) visit http://www.sambishfoundation.org & Cole's Foundation http://www.colesfoundation.org 46 MOMMAS SHAVE FOR THE BRAVE http://www.stbaldricks.org


Leave a Reply

