In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Asher’s 1 month Birthday! May 18, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 5:33 AM
Big Strong Boy Sitting Up

Big Strong Boy Sitting Up

I can’t believe our sweet little miracle Asher is 1 month old! To celebrate, he was able to get his feeding tube out! Continue to pray that he will eat well and grow over the next few days. The doctor’s are talking of possibly sending him home on his “whiff” of oxygen next week, if he masters the feeding by bottle and is stable in his growth (his is 6lbs 12oz now!) over the weekend. (It would be great to have him home by my birthday on Wednesday. That would be a perfect birthday present for this mom!)

God has been challenging me this week to continuing to trust Him and not worry as new challenges arise. My Bible study this past week was over Philippians 4:4-9:

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

How can we set aside any worry or anxiousness and have the peace of God which surpasses all understanding? These verses tell us to pray, give thanks, rejoice in the Lord, and think on things that are true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, commendable, excellent, and worthy of praise.

There is no shortage of things to pray about, give thanks for, and rejoice in the Lord because of in my life when I am focused on God and His goodness to me. I have been challenged by these verses to take hold of my thoughts and make sure that the things I allow my mind to wonder to are things that fall into that list. There are many things in this world that want to draw us away from God and those “excellent” things if we allow them to. But those things that draw us away do NOT bring us true peace and joy in our lives. Even in the midst of battling cancer twice in the past 2 years, the second time while pregnant, a job loss, and having our baby Asher in the NICU, I have found peace and joy from God in turning to Him in my time of need. God has given me amazing blessings and opportunities in that time, and I wouldn’t change it even if I could. My journey through cancer has been and continues to be filled with blessings as I trust in God! Are you trusting in God in your challenging circumstances and seeing the blessings only He can give?

Asher hanging out with Mom

Asher hanging out with Mom

I did receive a special blessing today. I went in for my BIG chemo day (5+ hours including my appointment and receiving all 3 of my chemos) and was given the week off! I am having some new side effects from my new chemos that my oncologist would like to see resolved before giving me a 3 week dose of each that would most likely make things much worse. I did still get my steroids before I left today, because that will help in resolving my side effects as well. So instead of an entire day getting treatment, I was able to see my sweet Asher in the NICU and attend Field Day at school with my other kiddos! At the end of the day the entire school held a Mini Relay for Life Walk in conjunction with the American Cancer Society. They recognized 16 individuals who were present that were students or relatives of students that have battled or are battling cancer, including me! The school students, families, and staff raised over $1,300 for cancer research! Everyone at the school and in the community of Bennington has been such a support and encouragement to our family these past 2 years! What an unexpected blessing to take part in this special day!

Having my steroids means I still will have energy this weekend to “catch up” on things around the house and in my weekly responsibilities (including updating all of you on what is going on so you can continue to pray! Thank you all for your continued love and support in so many ways to our family!) Having no chemo this week hopefully means I will be feeling good this week for my birthday and the possibility of adjusting to having Asher home with us!

We are also continuing to see really good results from the new chemos! The cancer is shrinking! The tumor on the right side continues to get smaller week by week, as well as the “rash-looking” cancerous area on the left side. And we are still amazed and in awe of the miracle that the cancer did not spread anywhere else in my body while I was pregnant and couldn’t take these particular chemotherapy treatments. Our God is an awesome God!

 

4 Responses to “Asher’s 1 month Birthday!”

  1. tonna Says:

    i actually thought to myself yesterday, “wow, chemo went fast this time!” cuz you were at the school, but then I just thought i had been running so much that maybe i had lost track of how many hours had truly passed and maybe you had been planning to be there all along 🙂 Im glad you got a week off (with steriods :)) and could be there for the entire school to celebrate you! So exciting about Asher. Praying for an amazing birthday present!!

  2. Hello, my sister in Christ, just wanted to rejoice with you as you bring Asher home!! I will be walking for cancer today, Saturday, May 18, to honor your tenacity and faith in our Lord and so that our Lord will be honored!!

  3. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    What a precious baby. The look on his face is as though he is saying, “Wow mommy, are all those people praying for us?” And yes we are. I praise God for the privilege. Love the portion of Phil. that you printed in your blog. What an amazing God we have. Thank you Amy for sharing God’s word with us. And as it says in Eph.,1:6, 12,” to the praise of his glory.”
    Happy 1 month Birthday Asher ! Hi, Faith,Adam and Ethan, I bet it was fun to hold your baby brother.

  4. I’ve been following your journey through your blog, and my Mom, Donna Bennett with BCP. She’s faithful to pray for you and thought I should let you know you are in our prayers at home and church.


Leave a Reply

