In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

At Jesus’ Feet December 14, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 1:24 AM
GmaDonna

Grandma Donna Jean Wilson, Now at Jesus’ Feet

Parting is such sweet sorrow. This past Friday, December 6th, one of my greatest supporters and prayer warriors went to meet her Savior. My Grandma, Donna Jean Wilson, passed away suddenly from complications of a blood clot.

We thank the Lord we were able to see her again just 3 weeks ago as we celebrated my grandparent’s 60th wedding anniversary with family. What a wonderful example of a God-centered marriage they have been to us. They always endeavored to honor God with their lives, sacrificing themselves and what they had to help, encourage, and love each other and those around them.

Grandma always had a way of finding practical ways to help out and love our family, whether that was helping clean my house in preparation for a big event, taking us out to eat, or watching our kids when we needed a break. She has always been one of my biggest supporters and cheerleaders. She was always there to support and cheer me on in any endeavor I pursued, whether education, hobbies, marriage, child-raising, but most of all following God’s leading in my life. She told me often that she prayed for me every day.

I have always loved to hear the stories of how God was working to change the lives of those around my grandparents. God used them to help plant a wonderful, God-honoring church and bring the Good News of God’s Salvation to so many. Even after retiring, they used their time and resources to help missionaries and minister in multiple churches, as well as helping many family members and friends in their travels. I’m sure there are many, many ways God used them that I do not even know about. What a wonderful example they leave to all of us to love God and love those around you wherever you go.

We are so thankful for the comfort we have in knowing Grandma Donna is now in heaven at the feet of Jesus. She knew the truth of I John 5:13: “I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God that you may know that you have eternal life.” She believed, and we know she is now in heaven with her Lord and Savior, as my Grandpa sang “her” song at the funeral:

Look for Me at Jesus’ Feet

If I leave this world of sorrow sometime before you do,
Just look for me in heaven and we’ll talk the ages thru;
But if, at first, you fail to see me, let me tell you where I’ll be,
I’ll be thanking Christ, my Savior, for saving a wretch like me.

Don’t look ‘neath the gates of pearl, don’t look on the streets of gold,
Don’t look by the walls of jasper, nor among the many sights untold;
For I’ve been longing and I’ve been waiting for the precious, holy One to meet,
There I’ll be thru the countless ages, look for me at Jesus’ feet.

But if you should reach that city before my time has come,
Perhaps you’d like to greet me when my race down here is run;
Just wait, for I’ll soon be coming across life’s ebbing sea,
And I’ll tell you now, my brother, just where to wait for me.

Don’t wait ‘neath the gates of pearl, don’t wait on the streets of gold,
Don’t wait by the walls of jasper, nor among the many sites untold;
For I’ve been longing and I’ve been waiting for the precious, holy One to meet,
There I’ll be thru the countless ages, wait for me at Jesus’ feet.

I treasure the last words my Grandma wrote to me in a card she gave me when I last saw her: “We pray daily for you and ask God to heal you, if it would be His will. We love you and your little family and we praise Him for the testimony that everyone in your family is for the Lord. We sang this song in church last Sunday and I said to myself, this is Amy’s song:

No Need to Doubt Him Now

Roy E. Coble, Jr. and Sydney G. Coble

Looking back through the years
The heartaches and tears
My Lord has never once let me down
Though I don’t understand
Still I trust in His plan
For He said that His grace would abound.

No need to doubt Him now
He’ll make a way somehow
Safely this far Jesus has brought me
No need to doubt Him now.

Child of God, have no fear
Though your path seems unclear
Some day God’s plan will unfold
He has never, never failed
He has always prevailed
The Lord is still in control.

No need to doubt Him now
He’ll make a way somehow
Safely this far Jesus has brought me
No need to doubt Him now.

All our Love,

Grandma & Grandpa”

Thank you for the love you showed, Grandma. We love you so much and miss you dearly as we look forward to the day when you will greet us when our race down here is done and we can be with you at Jesus’ feet!

 

4 Responses to “At Jesus’ Feet”

  1. Jeanette Wade Says:

    We’re so sorry to hear of your loss. Prayers for your family Amy!

  2. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    Thank you for sharing the testimony of such a precious soul as your grandmother. May God Bless You with his precious message he has in 2 Cor. 1:2-5. Continuing in prayer for you all.

  3. julie Says:

    So sorry for your loss. Clearly she was a wonderful person who has had a great impact on you and your family.

  4. Johnna Stinchcomb Says:

    Amy, your grandmother, Donna was a special lady to me. I worked with her in Lubbock on the CICU floor for several years. She and Dad took me in to live with them for 6 months during a difficult time in my life. I consider her to be a second mom to me! I will dearly miss her. Praying peace for your family but rejoicing that she is now sitting at Jesus’ feet this Christmas season. Praying for you and your family also as you walk this journey of cancer.

    Blessings, Johnna Templeton Stinchcomb


Leave a Reply

