In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

9 Months Already! January 18, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:22 AM
Asher is 9 months old!

Asher is 9 months old!

Asher has reached another milestone: his 9 month birthday! He is a happy, social little guy who is always on the go. If anyone gives him a little attention he smiles and smiles. He is definitely living up to the meaning of his name by spreading “happiness and joy” wherever he goes! He is crawling all over now, pulling himself up to standing, and walking with help.He has had 2 haircuts, has 6 teeth, and is loving eating food now! He is our perfect little miracle from God! I can’t help but thank and praise God for this amazing gift as I watch him grow and develop each day.

I haven’t given a medical update for quite some time now. I did finish my 3 weeks of daily radiation to my left chest area at the beginning of December. We saw great results from the radiation! The 2 tumors are completely gone and the skin area is much improved and hasn’t shown any signs of growing again since then. I did have some pretty good radiation burns this time and even had an area that opened up. My radiation oncologist prescribed a burn ointment that worked wonderfully though. The area was completely healed over within 2 weeks after looking pretty nasty! Now my burns are all healed and the skin is looking very good. I am so thankful that the radiation works so well against my cancer!

As I was preparing to begin radiation on my left side, some new bumps popped up on the right side again. I continued my weekly doses of Herceptin chemotherapy while doing radiation. At the end of radiation I added a new daily chemo pill that was very hard on my GI tract. I ended up on it for a week and then off for a week to recover. We kept up this routine for 6 weeks and my symptoms just seemed to get worse each time, so we decided to move on to the next chemo. The pill was just meant to be an interim chemo until I was healed up from radiation. The Herceptin and chemo pill (Tykerb) did seem to work in the respect that my new cancer on the right side did not grow, but also did not shrink while on them.

Asher is hanging with mom,  sporting his new haircut!

Asher is hanging with mom,
sporting his new haircut!

In just the past week I have seen some small growth of these bumps again, so God worked out the timing to move on at just the right time once again. I began Kadcyla chemotherapy Friday. This is a new “miracle” drug that was just approved last year. We are hopeful that it will attack and kill the cancer with minimal side effects! Will you pray with us that this is the case?

Also, please be in prayer for my chemo friends. In the past week we have seen one chemo friend pass away, and 3 others receive news that their cancer is back or has spread. We are thankful for the wonderful testimony of Bonnie Walls at her memorial service. She was always willing to share her experience and kind words to help and encourage me and others in the chemo room. We rejoice that she is

now in heaven with her Savior, but we also sorrow with those loved ones left behind. With many friends hearing “bad” news this week it has been difficult to keep our focus on rejoicing in God and His goodness.

I read a great quote from Lysa TerKeurst and her book Unglued, “I can’t control the things that happen to me each day, but I can control how I think about them. I can say to myself, ‘I have a choice to have destructive thoughts or constructive thoughts right now. I can wallow in what’s wrong and make things worse, or I can ask God for a better perspective to help me see good even when I don’t feel good.'”

I am so thankful for the verse I taught in Jr. Church last Sunday that the Spirit kept bringing back to my mind throughout this week: “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (I Thessalonians 5:16-18) We know that God loves us and wants the best for His children. This is His will for us. As I try to rejoice, I remember the next part of the verse. If I cannot rejoice, I pray that God will give me joy despite what my circumstances may be. God has given me so many blessings to rejoice in. I have to keep my focus on Him and His blessings!

Wilmeth Family Vacation at Mall of America!

Wilmeth Family Vacation at Mall of America!

We were able to enjoy some wonderful times of blessing over the Christmas Season when I was feeling okay! We spent time with all our family, some college friends, some high school friends, and other dear friends. We celebrated Adam’s 7th birthday at the Science Center in Iowa. We also took our first Wilmeth Family Vacation! Well, the first vacation that wasn’t to visit family or to go to a conference. 😉 We left Asher with Eric’s parents and took the other kids to the Mall of America for a few days! We had a great time visiting the Lego store, American Girl store, and exploring the amusement park in the mall! We were able to make many memories that we will remember for years to come. We thank the Lord for this blessed time together!

 

2 Responses to “9 Months Already!”

  1. penny trupiano Says:

    i hope you are blessed and i wanted you to know i pray with you for your healing from this cancer. i wanted you to be encouraged to know that even people you dont know are praying for you. i know how much that meant to me while i was going through it in 2012.

    • Bryan McCormick Says:

      Our family is praying for you and your family. I know Eric from Whispering Cedars. You are such an inspiration to all with your unwavering spirit and faith. You can just hear the joy in your words as you type them. You have such a beautiful family. We will continue to pray for gods healing.


Leave a Reply

