In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Time for More Scans April 12, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 5:00 AM

It has been 6 months since my last scans. And just in time, a couple of my recurring spots on the right side decided to pop up again. This tumor first made it’s appearance a little over a year ago during my pregnancy with Asher. Since then, we have seen it respond to 2 different chemotherapy regimens and go completely away each time, only to return again. This time I noticed it again the day before my last treatment. I had my treatment and again saw it shrink, but it has not gone away completely yet.
Since this spot keeps coming back, we are exploring other options of treatment. My oncologist set me up for a PET scan and CT scan. I also saw my Radiation Oncologist and radiation looks to be a good option. I’ve had great results from radiation on my left side, but have not had any radiation on the right side. So for now I continue my current chemotherapy treatment every 3 weeks, wait for results on the scans, and will most likely begin radiation in May.
At the beginning of May, I have the wonderful opportunity to go with my daughter Faith on her 5th Grade Class Field Trip to Washington D.C.!!! I have never been there before, and I am so excited to share this special experience with Faith! We have been fundraising throughout the school year to offset the cost of the trip. As May approaches, we have begun to research some of our destinations, and we are eager to see some of the examples around our Capitol that show the Christian Heritage of our nation! Please pray that I will have the energy needed to enjoy this amazing trip with Faith! Thankfully it will fall on the good week in my chemo cycle, but my energy has definitely been down again these past couple weeks.
Lately, as my prayer list has been growing with so many that are facing such difficult circumstances, I believe God has been working in my heart and showing me some ways that I can help and encourage those around me. I began a Bible study in our home this week with some dear ladies and am very excited to see how God will work through it in our lives in the coming weeks! I am also pursuing some other opportunities and will see if God continues to open doors. Please pray for me to have wisdom in using my energy and knowing what God’s will is for me right now.

As many cancer patients know, the time leading up to and waiting for results from scans can be a very anxious time. Fear of cancer spreading or recurring can run rampant if not held in check. When I struggle with worry, I always end up going back to my first round of testing to see if I had cancer. God brought me to the book of Philippians. Right in chapter 1:18-20:
“Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayers and the provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, according to my earnest expectation and hope, that I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death.”
This will turn out for my deliverance. No matter what the outcome, God is in control and will work this out for my deliverance and His glory! So I am to exalt Christ through my current situation.
Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” God has a purpose and can work any situation out for my good when I turn to Him and seek His will.
So, practically, what do we do when worry and anxiety creep in? Philippians 4:4-9 has the answer:
“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things. The things you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”
1)Rejoice in the Lord, 2)Think of others, 3)Pray, 4)Give thanks, and 5)Control what you think about. (If it’s not on the list, change your train of thought to something that is on the list of things to dwell on.) Then the Peace of God which passes all understanding will be with you. Much, much easier said than done, I know! 😉 It’s not easy, but it does work.
I’ll leave you with one last verse that I memorized under the tag “Assurance of Victory”:
“No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13) No matter what the future holds in this life, God will provide a way of escape for you to endure it. And we always have the future hope of eternity in heaven with our Savior!

 

3 Responses to “Time for More Scans”

  1. Sheri Glorvick (John's mom) Says:

    Rob and I just returned from DC this week! It was our first trip away from John and it was great! I’m happy to hear that you are able to spend time with your daughter on this once in a lifetime trip to the Capital! So much to see and I pray you pull energy from the kids and the beautiful cherry blossoms to get in as much as you can!!! And when u need to take a load off I hope you can get to Old Ebbitt Grill for some crab cakes!! Have fun and take care of yourself!

  2. Don Michaelsen Says:

    Amy, I’m concerned once again to hear about your couple of recurring spots. Thanks for sharing your special verses that have been your continual strength in this journey. These verses encourage me along with your testimony and courage. We’ll be praying that you will be able to go with Faith to Washington DC in May. That radiation will be effective and you will have the strength to do what you need and want to do.

    Love In Christ, Jeanie Michaelsen

    On Sat, Apr 12, 2014 at 5:02 AM, In Christ Alone: My Journey through Breast

  3. Judy Swope-Connie Pitcher's mom at Slater Baptist Church Says:

    Continuing in prayer for you Amy, and your family. Psalm 94:17-19,22
    Praying that you will have the strength to go with Faith to Washington D.C.


Leave a Reply

