In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Remembering May 27, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 1:56 AM

Sorry it has been so long since my last update. April and May have been very busy for our family, as is probably the case for most of you as well! Here are a few highlights:

Asher loves his birthday cake!

Asher loves his birthday cake!

Asher’s 1st Birthday-Our little miracle reached the milestone

Asher is 1 year old!

Asher is 1 year old!

of his 1st birthday! Asher is now walking around and starting to say some words. He is very social and loves to go out to various activities. May 27th will mark 1 year since we brought Asher home from the NICU! It has been amazing to see his growth in the past year from being totally dependent, even to breath in the beginning, to becoming an active little boy who now wants to do many things independently. “Every good and every perfect gift is from above.” (James 1:17) We are truly blessed to have been entrusted with our perfect gift of Asher James.

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

In the stocks!

In the stocks!

Washington DC Trip-I was so blessed to be able to go on the 5th grade field trip to Washington DC with Faith! It was an amazing experience to see the monuments and buildings and to experience so many things that our country was founded on. It was neat to see how God was part of the foundation of our country in so many ways.

 

 

Girls' Trip!

Girls Trip!

It was truly an answer to prayer that I was even able to take this trip and keep up with our group while under the fatigue of my chemo treatments. Most days we walked about 9 miles in our sightseeing endeavors! Thank you so much to all who were praying. I know it was because of your prayers and the supernatural energy I received that I could experience this once in a lifetime trip. It was a wonderful experience for Faith and I to share together. No matter what the future holds, we’ll always be able to look back on this fun girls trip we took together with fond memories.

IMG_1742

Ready for graduations from K, 1st, & 5th Grades!

End of School Year Activities-Concerts,  Field Trips, Field Day, American Cancer Society Relay for Life Recess at our Elementary School, Awards Days-Kindergarten, 1st, & 5th Grade Graduations & more!

Church Activities-Spring Conference, began weekly Ladies Bible Study, hosting college team visits, Bennington Daze & Vacation Bible School planning, and the “normal” weekly ministries of a church planter.

As we remember the many who have given their lives to give our country the freedom we have today, I can’t help but think of the verse, “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.” (John 15:13) I have been blessed to teach my Jr Church kids how Jesus is the Good Shepherd. “The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” (John 10:11) It is amazing to think about the love that someone must have to lay down their life for someone else. I am so thankful for the love God has for me, even to the point of dying for me. I urge you to meditate on Psalm 23 and see how the Lord acts as our Shepherd and gives us all that we need.

Medical Appointments-My scans once again came back clear! It is good to know that my cancer has not spread to other parts of my body! Once again, the spots we have been watching on the right chest area that keep growing, then shrinking after my chemo treatments, and then growing again did not show up on my scans. We decided to do a biopsy to confirm this was cancer again. I underwent a small punch biopsy 2 weeks ago on the new spot that developed since my last chemo treatment and the results show that it is cancer.

After consulting with my medical team, we have decided to pursue radiation and chemotherapy treatments. I will begin daily radiation treatments on Tuesday, May 27th for the next 3 weeks, while continuing on my current chemotherapy once every 3 weeks. I have not had any radiation on my right side before. I have had radiation on the left side 2 times now with excellent results: no cancer has returned to any radiated areas! We are praying this will be the treatment that will work on the right side now.

Please pray with us that this treatment will successfully kill the cancer, that the radiation burns will be tolerable and heal quickly, that I will have opportunities to share God’s faithfulness to me with others around me.

The month of May also marks another milestone in my life-my birthday! I am so thankful that God has blessed me with another year to experience the ups and downs of life here on earth with my family and friends. I am thankful God has taught me over this past year and is still teaching me that I can find joy in any circumstance I am in. I am thankful for the many opportunities to serve and help others, share Christ’s love, and tell of God’s faithfulness to me.

My journey has shown me how precious and fragile life really is. This past year, I have seen too many friends lose their battles with cancer, knowing that could be me before my next birthday. This life is but a vapor, and I know that each day is a gift from my precious Savior! I am so thankful that I have the assurance that this life is not all there is, and I will go to heaven when I leave this earth! Do you have that assurance? If not, please read this page! If you do have this assurance, are you living each day in light of your eternal salvation? Don’t miss out on the opportunities God places before you to live out your salvation so others may be pointed to God as well. Thank you all for your love, support, and prayers!

 

3 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. Sharon Sparks Says:

    Amy and Eric-It’s good to read your continuing story. I am praying for healing in your next round of chemo. I am lifted up by your positive and encouraging attitude, a gift directly from the One in whom we have our faith and hope.

    Love to you all,
    Sharon Sparks

  2. Cori D. Says:

    Praying your treatment is effective and for all of you!

  3. Elaine Shewfelt Says:

    Amy, it is a real answer to prayer to know that you were able to make the Washington DC trip with Faith, and an extra bonus to hear how the Lord gave you strength to walk all those miles to see the sights. Thank you for sharing the news and thoughts from out your way. It is so wonderful to belong to the Lord. We continue to pray for your family and your Grandpa Wilson. We love you all. Elaine Shewfelt


Leave a Reply

