In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Get Set July 19, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:43 AM

Thank you all for your prayers! God has been working in each area we asked you to pray with us about this week! I’m so thankful God hears our prayers and answers!

Health-wise, I was able to have my CT scan done this week, and it only shows one of my lumps that we already knew about. This is very good news! The cancer has NOT spread anywhere else! And most of the new lumps are still superficial enough that they do not show on the scan. We have adjusted my chemo: I went back to Herceptin to attack any of the HER2 positive cancer, and also added a new weekly chemotherapy called Navelbine. It does have a long list of possible side effects, including my blood counts being affected, so we will have to wait and see how it affects me this week. I received my first dose on Friday, and so far I’ve been feeling pretty good! The wheels are now set in motion, so we will wait to see how the cancer responds to this treatment.

It was neat to see how God worked this week in making the next step clear to us. We had different possibilities we were pondering, but God had the week’s events planned to help us Trust Him and He directed our path. Why is it so hard for us to claim His promise in Proverbs 3:5-6:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

Financially, God is putting some new opportunities before us! Some we have been working toward for a while, others came out of the blue just this week. If nothing else, we have the confidence that God will provide. He is over all His works! He owns the cattle on a thousand hills! Please pray that we will continue to have wisdom from above in discerning what God’s will is for our family financially.

Ministry-wise, God is shedding some light on possibilities, so please continue to pray as we seek to follow and honor God in our church planting ministry in Bennington, NE. I am so thankful for God using my hubby’s sermons in my life, especially the past two weeks. You’ll notice my last blog was entitled Get Ready from the title of Eric’s sermon that week. God is going to do great things! Are you Ready?

This past week’s sermon, He’s Here, reminded me why we can Trust God and His Word. If we have accepted Christ as our Savior and made Him Lord of our lives, He sends us the Holy Spirit to live in us. We have God living in us, with us wherever we go! He will give us whatever power we need to stand, no matter what comes. Trust in Him and Trust in His promises from His word.

God has put a couple of older songs in my heart this week. From my Patch the Pirate Club days, Rejoice in the Lord reminds me that God never moves without purpose or plan and He knows best. He Giveth More Grace reminds me that He will provide whatever I need as the needs arise. His power has no boundary! His riches are infinite! His love has no limit! As we rest in Him and cry out to Him, He gives us His grace, mercy, strength, and unexplainable peace for our journey.

God is at work; please keep praying with us as we Get Set for what He will do!

I Thessalonians 5:16-18 – “Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

 

One Response to “Get Set”

  1. […] you recall, my last two blog posts were
    entitled Get Ready and Get Set, so it’s only fitting that
    this one is entitled Go! God is working in truly amazing ways as
    […]


Leave a Reply

