In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Blessed in 2014 January 1, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 10:18 AM

Family 2014

Happy New Year! I can’t believe another year is in the books! As I look back at 2014, I realize I have so much to be thankful for. God has blessed me with another year on this earth with family and friends, old and new! So many have been with me on this cancer journey in so many ways. When I think back over the last 3-3/4 years, I am truly overwhelmed by the love and support of so many! We are continually in awe of how God provides for our every need through all of you: food, clothes, medical bills, financial support, gifts, child care, transportation, friendship, understanding, encouragement, patience, forgiveness, love, joy, peace, hope, and so much more. Wow! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!
While there have been many ups and downs again this past year, God has given me the strength to keep fighting in this battle with cancer. Some mornings I wake up completely drained and exhausted from this fight and the normal daily demands of life. I feel I don’t have the energy to even get up to get three kids ready and off to school and chase a busy toddler around for the morning. But then I remember my favorite verse: “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” (Phil. 4:13) I stop and pray that God will strengthen me to do what I need to that day. Amazingly it has always worked; He gives me the strength to get up.
No, I don’t always get done everything that I want to. But I do what needs to be done and He gives me time to rest when my body needs it. (Thank the Lord that Asher still takes a nap most afternoons so I can rest!)
I do have to schedule my time wisely and know my limitations. I can’t put unrealistic expectations on my energy levels! This has meant cutting back on some of our family activities and simplifying much of our lives. This has been unexpectedly freeing for our family. We are not constantly consumed by a busy schedule, running from activity to activity. We are able to focus on things that are important to us and make sure our time and energy are used for worthwhile things, things that God has called us to do.
As I thought about how to best use the time God has given me in 2015, I came across a quote that fits well: “Our greatest fear as individuals should not be of failure but of succeeding at things in life that don’t really matter.” (Tim Kizziar)
In the past year, God has definitely opened my eyes to the difference between a want and a need, between things that really matter and things that don’t. There are so many things that I realize are ultimately not necessary or important in the long run. I pray you all will see how blessed you truly are in 2015. God has been so good to me and my family throughout 2014; I know He will continue to faithfully love and bless us in 2015.
As you consider your goals and resolutions for 2015, think about these things: Why are you doing what you do each day? What is the purpose of your life? Are you a slave to a hectic schedule of things that have no lasting importance? Have you accepted God’s gift of hope for your life? You too can live in the joy of the precious hope we have in Jesus, despite any difficult circumstance you may face in 2015! If you do have this gift, does your daily life and the way you spend your time reflect the hope you have? Just stop and think about what you are living for today. Take just 15 minutes of your 2015 to watch this video by Francis Chan to consider what God tells us in the Bible: Just Stop & Think (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRi4VwcrYmA). It could change your life! I pray you all will succeed at things that matter in 2015!
Blessed 2014

 

Leave a Reply

