In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

4 Year Cancerversary March 18, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 12:27 AM

4 years. I can’t believe it has been 4 years ago today since I first heard those life-changing words: “You have cancer.” When I began this cancer journey, I never knew where it would take me. What a journey it has been! I remember my mom and fellow two-time breast cancer survivor telling me that the next year of treatment will be awful, but then it will be done. There was a light at the end of the tunnel. Endure this for a little while and then things will be back to “normal” again. (Whatever “normal” is!) My cancer journey is turning out quite different from the expected or the norm, but I still have a light at the end of my tunnel.

I am so very thankful that I will always have a light at the end of my tunnel! I have the assurance that I will spend eternity in true Paradise! No matter how this cancer battle ends up, no matter what I have to endure in this life, I will go to heaven for eternity. Romans 8:18 says, “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us.”
Jesus endured the pain, suffering, and shame of death on the cross for the joy set before Him. Hebrews 12:1-2 says, “Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Have you stopped to think about how short our life on this earth is compared with eternity? Whatever trial you are facing, don’t lose sight of the light at the end of the tunnel: an eternity of joy in Paradise with our Risen Lord and Savior!

Let me encourage you to follow the guidance God has given us in His Word: Run the race with endurance.
Keep your eyes fixed on Jesus.
Do not grow weary in doing good. (Galatians 6:9)
Remember His grace is sufficient. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

Don’t let the things of this world distract you from keeping your eyes on Jesus. I’ll leave you with a song that has helped me to keep my focus on the truth of God’s promises in His word: The Voice of Truth by Casting Crowns.

If you want to know how you can be certain of the light at the end of the tunnel I’m talking about, take a moment to read this page or watch this 15 minute video. It could change your life for eternity!

 

2 Responses to “4 Year Cancerversary”

  1. Rhonda Martin Says:

    Thank you for your wonderful words of scripture. You are amazing!

  2. Don & Jean Michaelsen Says:

    Thank you for your faithful testimony and letting God’s word speak so powerfully through you.


Leave a Reply

