In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Change of Plans-Surgery Friday! April 16, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 1:31 PM

We have had a change of plans this week! Last week, my oncologist told me he thought we may have shrunk the cancer as much as we could with chemotherapy. We are praising God that this new chemo, Halaven, has been so effective with shrinking and getting rid of a lot of my cancer!

I met with my surgeon this week to see if he thought he could surgically remove a couple of the areas of cancer that remain. He said he could do the surgery and get me in THIS Friday! So I am now scheduled for outpatient surgery Friday, April 17 at 11:30am to remove the lump in my right lymph gland and a mass on my lower chest area. Will you pray for my surgeon as he performs this surgery and all the medical staff that help him?

It has been exciting to be able to share the news of this surgery with family, friends, fellow patients, and medical staff that have seen me battle this cancer for 4 years now! God is so good. He continues to provide His grace and strength at every turn in this battle. Psalm 40:5 says, “Many, Lord my God, are the wonders you have done, the things you planned for us. None can compare with you; were I to speak and tell of your deeds, they would be too many to declare.” As I look at all God has done to get me to this point, I feel that way: His deeds are too many to declare. It’s overwhelming!

I have learned to patiently wait on the Lord for His perfect plan in His perfect time. And here we go! I can truly claim His promise in Psalm 40:

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him.”

Are you waiting patiently? Are you putting your trust in Him? He will hear you and answer!

Thank you to all who fervently pray for me. God hears and is answering!

 

8 Responses to “Change of Plans-Surgery Friday!”

  1. Jane Radke Says:

    Praying for you Amy and the surgeons that will be operating on you. God is good! May the Lord guide their hands and knowledge and make you all better.

  2. Joe & Terry Childs Says:

    Amy, Prayers are with you and the drs. that surgery will go well and this is definite step forward in your healing. Is your mom going to get to be there with you? Hope so.

    Again, many prayers

  3. Mary Ruth Cain Says:

    We will be praying for you, your family and the surgeon has he does the surgery tomorrow. God is our great physician and we will pray all will be taken care of and that you will regain your strength fast. Through all of this God has been so glorified! What a sweet example of His love you are, Amy.

    Mary Ruth CA

  4. penny trupiano Says:

    Bless you Amy and your doctors. We pray The Lord inhabits your doctors hands and guides them and keeps them to do all thats needed and thgat you have a full and quick recovery and that this surgery will be a witness to others of His care for them. In Jesus name Amen and amen

  5. Kathy Says:

    I’m praying for you, your family and the medical team today. You are such a blessing and encouragement to so many. Thank you

  6. Ken & Joyce Miller (BCP, Hamlin, NY) Says:

    That is great news. We are praying for you and trust that the surgery goes well on Friday. You’ve been in this battle a long time and it is always a blessing to hear how you are a good witness for the Lord.

  7. DONNA Says:

    PRAYING DEAR AMY. OUR GOD IS THE BLESSED CONTROLLER OF ALL THINGS!
    LOVE YOU!!! GIVE OUR LOVE TO YOUR FAMILY!

  8. Nancy Mcknight Says:

    Praying for your recovery!


Leave a Reply

