In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

God’s Perfect Plan? April 1, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 6:06 AM

This March marks 5 years I have been battling this stage 4 metastatic breast cancer. What a ride it has been! 10 surgeries, 3 different times through radiation therapy, and 13 different types of chemotherapy later, and I am still here fighting and living life!
God has supplied just what I needed exactly when I needed it on this journey! I have an amazing support system in my family, friends, medical team, and community. As my life verse says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13) God gives me strength when I need it to do the things He wants me to do. He also gives me rest when I need it. “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28) When my treatments steal my energy, I have to plan time to rest and rely on my amazing support system God has given to help me.
Through my cancer, God has taught me so many things and worked so many miracles for us and all of you to see. He truly has given me the grace to bear it. “There is no greater mercy that I know of on earth than good health except it be sickness; and that has often been a greater mercy to me than health,” Charles Spurgeon said. “It is a good thing to be without a trouble; but it is a better thing to have a trouble, and know how to get grace enough to bear it.” It is only by God’s grace that I can stand, holding up the lamp stand so others can find the grace they need to face their troubles, whatever they may be. God is the only One who can give you the grace you are searching for!
Our family has been reading about the end of Jesus life on earth this past week as we celebrated Resurrection Day! Just as with the plan for Jesus’ life, God has a perfect plan for my life through this cancer journey. Peter talked about God’s plan for Jesus’ life in Acts 2: “This Man, delivered over by the predetermined plan and foreknowledge of God, you nailed to a cross by the hands of godless men and put Him to death. But God raised Him up again, putting an end to the agony of death, since it was impossible for Him to be held in its power.” (Acts‬ ‭2:23-24‬‬‬) That plan for Jesus to suffer and die and rise again would not be what we would choose to show His sacrifice for our sin and His triumph over death, but it was God’s perfect plan. We would not have chosen a battle with cancer that has continued for five years now, but it is God’s perfect plan He is using to accomplish His perfect will in my life and many others. I am so thankful for God’s love, mercy, and grace for each day.
Are you trusting God to work out His perfect plan through your troubles in this life? Are you turning to Him for the grace that you need to stand today, no matter what may come?

 

3 Responses to “God’s Perfect Plan?”

  1. Diana Whipple Says:

    Your message hit home for me today Amy. Thank you!

  2. Jennel Clarke Says:

    Thank you for your continued updates. Praising God for his Glory. ❤

  3. Becca VanDam Says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you & your family! Hope your kids are all doing well and enjoying these beautiful spring days! I’m sorry I don’t keep in touch better (or have I ever since HS)! I guess I just get so lost in the day to day stuff. Our kids keep us busy, don’t they! Just wanted you to know I’m praying for you & think of you all! Many blessings! -Becca VanDam


Leave a Reply

