In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Calling all Prayer Warriors May 4, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 4:33 PM

“Therefore, my brothers and sisters, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, dear friends!
Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:1, 4-7
We have had an eventful morning in the Wilmeth house! After we got the kids off to school, I was getting ready for the day and experienced a seizure. Thankfully Eric was there with me to catch me. I’ve never had a seizure before. I was taken by ambulance to the hospital. Thank you to the amazing Bennington Fire & Rescue for taking good care of me! It was nice to see some familiar faces to help us out. 🙂

At the hospital, they were able to get me in for a CT Scan right away and discovered that I have a 1cm mass in the left frontal lobe of my brain. They are thinking that is the cause of my seizure. I have since had an MRI of my brain to see what else they can see and find out from that. We are still waiting for the MRI results now. I have been feeling normal since getting to the hospital with no lingering symptoms of my seizure or any other problems. They plan to keep me for observation for at least 24 hours to make sure I don’t have any more episodes.

Even in this whole ordeal, we can see God’s hand of protection! If the seizure had happened even a half hour earlier, I would have been in the van driving the kids to school. God protected me and the kids in the timing of events. Also, Eric was right there with me when the seizure happened at home and was able to keep me from falling and hitting my head or anything. Although it was a scary experience, it could have been much worse! God is definitely Sovereign and watching over our whole situation. We have much to rejoice in!

Please join us in praying for wisdom for my doctors and medical professionals as they read the scan results and counsel us on what the next steps are in this new development. We will definitely pass along updates as we learn more.

Thank you so much for the encouraging emails, texts, and calls so far today. It’s so encouraging to know so many are taking us to the Lord in prayer. And we know God hears and answers our prayers and extends His peace that passes all understanding for whatever situation we are facing. We are trusting the Lord to accomplish His perfect will even in this situation and are thankful for opportunities in talking through my medical history with doctors and nurses today to share God’s faithfulness through my cancer journey and the miracle of Asher already. God is good all the time!

 

13 Responses to “Calling all Prayer Warriors”

  1. Tammy Harrison Says:

    Amy, what a lovely testimony you and your family are! How you have allowed to be used of the Lord through a great trial and let His light shine thru it all!
    Bro. Rick Ross preached a sermon tonight and in it he said, “what if a father only gave his children sweets and candy to eat and never the “yucky, not so favorite meals”? You would go to bed with a tummy ache. Always. I thought how God makes sure we have a balanced spiritual diet and life. Trials and triumphs. I am praying for another triumph thru this trial for you and your family. Psalm 103

  2. Diana Whipple Says:

    been praying for you and family Amy.

  3. Amy Says:

    Thank you for sharing. Prayers are going up for you and your family. Doctors are amazing people and I will be praying for them as well. Take care my friend, and may your eyes stay fixed on Him. Praise be to God.

  4. Kathy Says:

    You are in our hearts and prayers. He knows all about this and is there with you. Praise God for His watching over you and the children when the seizure happened. Our love to you and your family.

  5. Deanna Juhl Says:

    Altho we do not know each other, I will be happy to add you to my prayer list. Confidence in the Lord, such as you have, must be rewarded with positive results. Looking forward to hearing more of your Journey.

  6. Ron and Sandy Cornell (missionary builders) Says:

    Praying for you and the family and waiting to see what God is going to do through your cancer journey.

  7. Aunt Raola Says:

    Prayers are coming to you and your family, from me and the Devotional group at Windsor Manor at Nevada, Iowa

  8. Patty Says:

    Still praying. Dave and Patty Parkin

  9. Amy Cheek Says:

    Our small group would like to come & pray for Amy. We can come to the hospital or your home. We are flexible to the day & time, let us know what works best for you & your family. You all are in our prayers!

  10. Nicki Says:

    Praying for you!

  11. Donna Bennett Says:

    Love you dear Amy,. Praying for you and wisdom for the doctor! God is in control!!

  12. Mauricsa Merryfield Says:

    In His Perfect Timing–you are right it could have been much worse. I will pray that the mass will shrink and go away and trouble you no more. He has the big picture and knows what he is doing. Your witness is amazing.

  13. Susan LeMar Says:

    Amy, I am a former work friend of your mom. Wanted you to know my Alpha group is praying for you, they prayed all through your pregnancy and are on high alert again. I have also asked for prayers on my Facebook page as a lot of friends are ardent prayers. Yes it was good that Eric was home, you have a way of making good out of everything. It so touches my heart and inspires me to be a better person. If you have such faith and trust so can others. You are truly an inspiration from God.


Leave a Reply

