In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

The Waiting Game May 18, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 1:00 PM

“I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD In the land of the living. Wait on the LORD; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the LORD!”
‭‭Psalms‬ ‭27:13-14‬ ‭NKJV‬‬
Why is it so hard to wait? One of the hardest times for me to trust in the Lord and His perfect plan for my life is in the time of flux and limbo and waiting. It is easy to quote God’s words that say “His ways are higher than our ways” and to have that head knowledge that He is working out that perfect plan in His perfect timing as we wait. But then, the rubber meets the road. And I have to sit and wait. I like to have a plan and work out that plan step by step, logically. But at this time I understandably have restrictions while I wait: No Driving, No Cooking, and No Being Alone to name a few big ones.

It is hard for me to take a step back and let others help and serve me in these areas where I used to have such freedom. But it is also such a blessing to have so many come together in our time of need to support us! We have had countless messages, texts, calls, cards, help with the kids activities, food brought in, and gifts and flowers to brighten our days as I have to sit and wait. We are so blessed!

The Medical Update

We now have a date for the Gamma Knife Procedure: May 31st will be the day! We were hoping for a sooner date, but a little more waiting is in order to get everyone’s schedules lined up. Thankfully the recovery time after the procedure will be VERY short and I should be able to cut back on my steroid use quickly too. 🙂

My anti-seizure medication, Keppra, has been giving me the hardest side affects of being extremely exhausted and in a brain fog much of the time all day, every day. Praise the Lord, I just found out I don’t need to continue this medication at this time! My steroid to reduce the swelling of the brain tumors should be sufficient to keep me from having seizures until my procedure can be done to zap the tumors. Thank the Lord with me for this amazing reprieve in this time of waiting!

I did have my routine 6 month CT Chest and Abdominal scans on Friday to keep an eye on the areas of cancer my ongoing weekly chemotherapy is treating. We were happy to hear that everything is stable and unchanged! There are no new areas of cancer that have popped up. And the small spots of cancer on my back and and right chest area have not grown and the chemo is continuing to work on them! I am so thankful my current weekly treatments of Gemzar and Herceptin chemotherapies have been working on these areas since July of 2015.

The Big Move to Ohio

We are also planning to move forward with getting our house on the market NOW and searching long-distance for a new home in Ohio! We are excited to see what God will do medically-wise, job-wise, church-wise, family-wise, school-wise, and community-wise as we get moved and embark on this next Adventure! Please pray with us as many details need to be worked out in our time of transition, but we know God continues to direct and work out His plan for our lives. 

Many have asked how they can help with our BIG MOVE and job transition. Our Mission Agency we work for, Baptist Church Planters, has set up a fund to pay for our Moving Expenses to Ohio, or you can become a Monthly Financial Supporter, or give a One-Time Monetary Gift to our Ministry as Missionaries. You can go to the Baptist Church Planters website for information on how to support us in these ways: http://www.bcpusa.org/giving/

Thank You

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all your prayers. They sustain and uplift us each and every minute of every day through this journey of life.

Continue to pray that we would live out the words of Psalm 27:13-14 as we wait on the Lord in this time: “I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD In the land of the living. Wait on the LORD; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the LORD!”

 

3 Responses to “The Waiting Game”

  1. Forest Greetham Says:

    Praying for you everyday Eric & Amy!

  2. Helen Wilson Says:

    I’m sorry I didn’t make it to your Picnic at the park. I’m in so much pain these days. Left work early Monday and missed my piano recital due the pain in my leg. We love and and pray for you every day. Maybe some day we can come visit in Ohio. Take care and God bless. Love you

    Helen L. Wilson helenlw@me.com

    >

  3. Kathleen Wilson Says:

    Many thoughts and prayers for each of you. Amy your light shines intensely and illuminates the love, grace, and power of the King !
    . Thank you for your faithfulness , your strength, and your unyielding faith.


Leave a Reply

