In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

​ Successful Gamma Knife Day May 31, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:53 PM

Wow! What a day resting in God’s goodness! So many of you all around the country and even the world were praying for all the details of the Gamma Knife Procedure today and my medical team as they worked. Thank you, thank you, thank you for the overwhelming prayers storming the throne of grace today. God heard and answered in mighty ways!

We are happy to report that the high resolution MRI showed that the 2 tumors had NOT grown any more and the procedure was able to target both of these areas and shoot them with the 200 beams to kill them just as planned! There were also NO additional areas that showed up on the scans to be dealt with either. I am so thankful for my amazing medical team and their hard work to get everything done exactly as planned. They did a fantastic job, in part because of the many prayers helping and guiding them along!

Here are a few pictures of the process of the Halo Device placement and yes I got to be a bubble-head for a bit to get into the Gamma Knife Radiation Machine! The most challenging part was trying to eat and drink with the halo device on while I was slightly drugged. I’m glad I could provided a bit of comic relief to Eric and my parents as they watched me in this attempt. 😉

IMG_4689 IMG_4692 IMG_4694 IMG_4699 IMG_4702

With the completion of the Gamma Knife Procedure today, we now wait again. The tumors should be now dead from the radiation and cannot grow anymore, but will take time to shrink away. We have to wait 2 months before I will have another MRI to see how things look in my brain then.

We were able to return home by 4pm today and I actually was able to rest and sleep after seeing my happy kids! The steroids have been preventing me from sleeping, even though I am very tired all the time. I am very thankful I can now start weaning myself off of the steroids and hopefully get back to some normal sleep patterns and add some much needed energy to my daily routine with my family and friends!

God has been so good to me through all this! He has taught me of my need to rest in Him and His promises when I am weak. He is the One who is with me and upholds me with His righteous right hand. When I feel like I can’t stand, He lifts me up.

“I waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭40:1-3‬ ‭NIV‬‬

 

Leave a Reply

