In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

TODAY: NO Knife “Surgery” Day! May 31, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 6:00 AM

The Gamma Knife Radiation Procedure:

TODAY is the day! We check into Outpatient Surgery at 10:30am, with my procedure process to begin at noon. The whole process of the Head Halo Device placement, high-resolution MRI scans to pinpoint the brain tumor locations, my Brain Neurosurgeon and Radiation Oncologist Planning Session, and the actual Gamma Knife Radiosurgery in the radiation machine will all take place throughout the afternoon. Then I can go home and rest! They say I can return to normal activity in just a day or two! 🙂

Mayo Clinic describes Gamma Knife Radiosurgery like this: “specialized equipment focuses close to 200 tiny beams of radiation on a tumor or other target. Although each beam has very little effect on the brain tissue it passes through, a strong dose of radiation is delivered to the site where all the beams meet.” So these 200 beams of radiation will be pinpointed on my 2 brain tumors, to kill them, but leave my healthy brain tissue unaffected. 

I am so thankful for this safe and uninvasive option to treat these brain tumors. Will you be in prayer for my doctors and medical team as they plan and execute this procedure today and it would have the desired outcome of killing these brain tumors completely? Most of all pray that we can glorify God in whatever we do and show that we trust in Him as He works through this situation.

Increased Side Affects:

As the month of May has progressed, I have noticed many increased side affects from the brain tumors and the medications I’ve had to take. I am sure many of you that I have seen and talked to may have noticed my memory and some speech has been off at times. Sometimes things are completely clear and fine, but other times I don’t remember doing or saying things. I notice it’s sometimes hard for me to comprehend a conversation and respond the way I want to. Things are just on the tip of my tongue, but I can’t quite get to it.

I am also experiencing some physical side affects. My balance and fine motor skills are a little off probably due to the tumor in my cerebellum, so I have to be careful.

One side affect I did not anticipate is muscle deterioration and weakness due to my lack of being as active because of my medications and balance issues. I have lost a lot of muscle mass and will have to work at rebuilding this once I can get weaned off the medications and get back to normal physical activity. Please pray that this may be done quickly, so I can enjoy more time with my kiddos and family now that school is out and beautiful, warm weather is here. We love being active outside and enjoying God’s wonderful creation with family and friends! 🙂

Thank you again for all your prayers and support this month. They have truly helped sustain us in our time of need. We are overwhelmed by so much love! Eric or I will post another update soon, so you can know how things are going and continue to pray.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

 

5 Responses to “TODAY: NO Knife “Surgery” Day!”

  1. Carla Lockridge Says:

    Will continue to pray – will especially pray for everyone involved with today’s procedure – that God will guide every detail! Praying! Carla Lockridge

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Erin Shaffer Says:

    The Shaffers are praying!

  3. Kristi Says:

    Praying for you and you family and your doctors today Amy!

  4. Micsch Says:

    Dearest Amy, Prayers have been sent on your behalf. Please continue your fight!

    >

  5. Marie Winters Says:

    Praying, just praying! ((( ❤ )))


Leave a Reply

