In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Muscle Power Needed! June 4, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 9:21 AM

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ‭‭(Philippians‬ ‭4:13‬)

Thank you for your continued prayers as I recover from my Gamma Knife Procedure. I do continue to have no side affects from it. No headaches or anything. And the tiny pinpoint incisions from placing the Halo Device are healing up nicely.

The Challenge: Muscle Power

The difficulty I am dealing with now is due to the extended steroid use to make sure there is no swelling on my brain as I recover. I have had to maintain a high dose steroid for an entire month already and I have to continue the steroid use for another month while I slowly wean off. In previous updates I’ve shared that I was having some significant muscle weakness, that has become significant muscle deterioration over the past month. This is one of the major side effects of the steroids. It is to the point now where my muscles are so weak at times that they give out and I have fallen a few times. Thankfully, Eric has been right there to catch me and is making sure I am safe and sound all the time.

Will you pray with me for strength in my muscles? Pray that the breakdown of muscle will stop and be rebuilt even now?

I know this is only a temporary struggle that we are dealing with for a little while as I recover. My medical team has given me instructions to follow and says I will recover as I wean off the steroids. This too shall pass in a bit more time. 

I know that Christ can give me the strength to do this! James 5:16 says, “pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.” So I am calling you prayer warriors to pray for this specific request: Muscle Power!

 

5 Responses to “Muscle Power Needed!”

  1. Kristi Says:

    Praying for you

    • Loretta Pope Says:

      I pray for you OFTEN……I would like to have your address so I can mail you a donation…..I’m sure you don’t remember me, you & Eric came to our church in Tecumseh & spoke at our church years ago.

  2. Diana Whipple Says:

    Will be praying specifically Amy.

  3. Ken & Joyce Miller Says:

    Praying for you, Amy.

  4. Joan Schlarb Says:

    Have been keeping up with you through our mutual friend Mary Lou Jenks. I have just wanted to encourage you about the muscle business. I have gone through a liver transplant with all the prednisone side effects and all that and recently broke my hip (femur). The difference between what I have gone through and your journey is that I am 83! I had just given up and thought that I was just old and would never be able to do anything again, but I had two months in rehab that gave me back strength that I thought was gone forever. It just takes longer than we want to give it—–I met a lady in rehab that had the new Gamma Knife also—–what a wonderful new thing! Praying for you every day along with my Amy that recovered from her round of cancer and since has had a little girl and twin boys! You can imagine her battle with strength and four children! They have a pastorate in Morden Canada.


Leave a Reply

