In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

Strength When I am Weak June 22, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 11:16 AM

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)
Thank you all for your continued prayers and support through this time of recovery from my brain tumors. We could not do this without all of you helping out, praying so much, and God’s grace and provision!

Medical Update

The process of weaning myself off of steroids continues to be a slow one with many side effects to deal with. I have not been able to walk on my own due to the muscle atrophy from the steroids since my Gamma Knife Procedure on May 31st. Thankfully my wonderful husband Eric has taken good care of me, being my muscles and getting me around. I now seem to be keeping the muscle I have and through small exercises I am very slowly gaining some muscle back. My steroids have also given me swelling in the ankles and feet requiring them to be elevated much of the day. They’ve also caused bloating, moon face, and very little sleep making me tired and fatigued much of the time. Thank you all for your prayers that are sustaining me each day as I deal with the steroid side effects. Each week I step down the dosage and will be done with the steroids on July 11th!

Last Tuesday, I was able to resume a half-dose of my harder Gemzar chemo along with my weekly Herceptin chemo treatment for my cancer spots on my back. This was needed as the cancer spots had begun to slightly grow on Herceptin alone. Praise the Lord, it worked and my spots did not grow this week! I was knocked down as if I had a full dose of my Gemzar last week though. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday I was “chemo wiped out” and very weak. By Friday, I was feeling better and was even able to attend our town celebration of Bennington Daze! It was a great time to get out and see many friends and enjoy the festivities with my husband and kiddos! I am so thankful for God’s blessings in the midst of trials! He is faithful and will get me through.

Yesterday, was again chemo day for me. I normally have Gemzar two weeks in a row and then one week off to recover my white blood cell counts and anything else that may be low. This week my platelets were too low to receive my 2nd week of Gemzar. They are not critical, but if I received another dose of Gemzar they would have gotten too low. So I had another Heceptin-only treatment day yesterday. Pray that this will be enough to keep my cancer spots in check till next week and I can get my Gemzar treatment.

Move to Ohio

Our house is still on the market and we continue to have a steady stream of showings, but no offers yet. We are told there is a family very interested, so we’re hopeful we will have an offer soon! We know God has perfect timing for selling our house and providing a house out in Ohio that will meet our needs. Please pray with us as we wait on His timing and all the details that go along with this transition.

Strength When I am Weak

I am so thankful for God’s strength when I am weak! Through this time, I have truly learned to trust in Him for my strength as I have lost my own strength through circumstances beyond my control. Have you had to face a struggle beyond your control? Many times bad things happen in this world we cannot stop. We all face hard times at some point. How are we going to respond?
I was greatly encouraged by the following verses and the words of a dear friend Dr. Michael Peck that is the response I desire to have, even though it is hard in the midst of my current circumstances:

“What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us? He that spared not His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?” (Romans 8:31-32)

“I might have situations and things that seem to be against me. However, I can rejoice in the knowledge that the great God Who delivered His only Son to become my Savior says that He is for me. Whatever you are facing today, please remember that if you know the Lord as your Savior, your great God is for you and has blessed you in every way. Turn to Him. Trust fully in Him. Share your heart and hurt with Him. Be watchful of His amazing provision and promise that God is for us!”*

What a wonderful biblical truth-God is for me! In my weakness, how is God going to supply through His power? Watch with me and see Him supply and give me the strength I need in His perfect time.

*excerpt from Dr. Michael Peck’s daily prescription June 21, 2016. Dr. Peck is the Baptist Church Planters Author and Family Counselor and you can see his writing and subscribe to his “Daily Prescription” at his website michaelpeck.org.

 

One Response to “Strength When I am Weak”

  1. Ann Hoschler Says:

    Hi, Amy:

    So sorry that you have gone through so much more since last time I read your blog. You and family amaze me. My best to all of you on your new adventures. Hope Ohio will be so good to you and family. How grateful to have known you.

    Ann Hoschler (Judy Jackson’s friend)


Leave a Reply

