In Christ Alone: Our Journey through and after Breast Cancer

a 37-year old, christian, mother of four, missionary/pastor's wife and her families story

When a Little Cough Isn’t So Little July 5, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — awilmeth @ 10:54 PM

“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” (James 1:5)
I wasn’t expecting to have another update for you so soon, but we’ve had another eventful day to share with you. Over the weekend I developed a little dry cough. As the weekend progressed, I started having some shortness of breath when I coughed and then times where it was hard to stop coughing. I also had a low-grade fever and was getting chills. We were thinking, “Who gets sick in July!”
I went in for my normal chemo appointment this Tuesday morning and told my doctor about my symptoms. He decided to send me for a CT Scan just to rule out anything going on in my lungs and then we could try some antibiotics to get rid of the cough.

They were able to get me in for a 1pm scan. We waited there afterward for the results. About ten minutes later they came out and told me multiple blood clots showed up on my scan and I was to head to the hospital to be admitted for treatment!

I have had blood clots before about 2-1/2 years ago. We caught those early on a routine scan before I had any symptoms. I have been on blood thinners ever since then to prevent blood clots. But when I had my seizure and they found my brain tumors at the beginning of May, they had me stop taking the blood thinners and switch to an Aspirin a day because my regular blood thinners might have interfered with my new meds and caused swelling on my brain.

Well, now we know that those blood thinners were keeping away blood clots for me. I have multiple blood clots in both lungs. The good news is they are not blocking any of the main pathways, so blood is still getting through. I have started Lovenox shots to thin my blood while I am here in the hospital so they can monitor me. I’ll hopefully get to go home in a couple days as the clots dissolve and I can start taking my pills at home again.

This morning as I was reading my Bible, I came to James 1:5, “If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.” I knew this cough was not like any cough I had before, so I prayed God would give us and my doctor wisdom as we figured out what to do. I am so thankful we decided to do a scan before just trying antibiotics. Once again God is faithful and answers prayer by guiding and directing the next step for us.

On the chemo side of my treatments, last week I got a week off from chemo! I had only received Herceptin the week before, and my tumors on my back had not grown at all. They typically grow a bit when I don’t have my Gemzar chemo too. I asked if I could take a week off from chemo and try to build up my muscles and my doctor thought that would be good. I have seen great improvement in my arm muscles and can use them to move myself quite a bit again! My legs have been slower, but are definitely improving too. My thigh muscles are definitely growing. Praise the Lord! Another praise is that even with last week off chemo, my tumors on my back have not grown this week again! God is so good!

Thank you once again for keeping our family in your prayers as we face this new challenge. Pray the medicine will work and these clots will dissolve quickly! God knew how our day was going to go and He was with us each step of the way. We know He has a plan and a purpose for me to be here. Pray that we can glorify Him in all we do.

 

3 Responses to “When a Little Cough Isn’t So Little”

  1. Annette Says:

    Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

    I’m so glad we serve the same God and we know who holds your tomorrow. Praying that the medicine works speedily and that your body will continue to build in strength.

  2. Pastor John Norris Says:

    Just to encourage you Amy, in 2012 while pastoring in Decatur, Illinois, I had a “shower of blood clots” as the doctor described it go from my leg into one of my lungs. God was gracious to me as well, and I was able to go on blood thinners before any further damage occurred. It was a blessing for me to realize that what we have no control over is still known and overseen by our all-wise, gracious, and loving Heavenly Father.

  3. Micsch Says:

    Dearest Amy,

    So sorry to hear about the blood clots! However, I am so amazed by your faith! I am so thrilled to know that you realize His love for you and that He is in control of all things, your health included.

    >


Leave a Reply

